Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Day Singing

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 5, 2016

The annual Liberty Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing was held at Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama, on the first Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten leading 49t. Eddie Mash offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Jared Wootten 32t; Cheyenne Ivey 166; Rex Wilks 445; Richard Ivey 172; Boyd Scott 358; Daniel Lee 163t; Sally House 503; Aaron Wootten 159; Judy Caudle 389; Eddie Mash 448b; Laura Hodges 431; Delone Cobbs 39b; Mike Richards 441; Deborah Morton, Josh Collier, and Garrett Morton 146, 477; Nicholas Thompson 336; Stephen Miller 479; Justin Bowen 426t; Sarah Wootten 542; Sonja Sipe 36b; Tom George 367; Danny Creel 383; Lisa Geist 528; Andy Ditzler 444 (for Janelle Davis); Adrian Eldridge 291; Eloise Wootten 318; Sierra Saylors 481; Henry Johnson 439; Susan Cherones 564; Marty Wootten 475; Drew Smith 129.

The class gathered at the cemetery. Shane Wootten, Rodney Ivey, and David Ivey led 45t, 571 (CB), 511b (CB), and 500 (CB).


Richard Ivey led 42 to bring the class together. Leaders: Dennis George 464; Teresa Saylors and David Saylors 203; Linton Ballinger 186; Isaac Green 282; Daryl Chesney 454; Linda Thomas 217; Jesse P. Karlsberg 498; Jonathan Smith 110; Lori Graber 277; Don Bowen and Rodney Ivey 99 (in memory of Marie Ivey); Lauren Bock 298; Tony Ivey 57; Reba Windom 269 (in memory of her sister); Phil Summerlin 411; Larry Ballinger 158; Lisa Bennett 216 (for her brother-in-law); Drew McGuire 399b; Karen Freund, Gloria Freund, and Lynn deBenedette 77t (in memory of Jerry Enright); Darrell Swarens 208; Nathan Rees 391; Scott Ivey 89. Dennis George asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jared Wootten leading 59. Leaders: Kelly House 532; David Smead 494; Alvaro Witt Duarte and Gideon Lloyd 474 (in memory of Oliver Kindig-Stokes); Loyd Ivey 283; Jackie Tanner and Rodney Ivey 47t; Cassie Allen 434; Shelby Castillo, Reba Windom, and Randall Smith 137; Cindy Tanner and Cassie Allen 436; David Ivey, Rodney Ivey, Richard Ivey, and Coy Ivey 384; Nathan Stewart 182; Hayden Wootten, Levon Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 155; Elene Stovall and Cheyenne Ivey 426b (for Susan Harcrow); Scott Ivey and Isaac Stiefel 198; Justine Bowen and Malachi Lloyd 40; James Eldridge 393; David Brodeur 368; Nate Green and Norma Green 566; Mary Ruth Stiefel and Verlon Stiefel 348b; Geraldine Sharpton 299; Coy Ivey, Eloise Wootten, Norman Greeson, Linda Patton, Loyd Ivey, Jack Ivey, and Norma Green 465 (CB); Butch White 86 (for Susan Harcrow); Loyd Ivey, Marion Biddle, Teresa Bethune, Lilly Underwood, Callie Watkins, Halle Sisemore, Candace Sisemore, Doug Ivey, and Lindsey Watkins 501 (CB); Jim Neal 496; Isaac Lloyd 117; Gravis Ballinger 112; Lynn deBenedette, Lauren Bock 272 (in memory of John Etheridge and Oliver Kindig-Stokes); Ezra Lloyd 84; Christopher Mann 31t; Bill Dunn 107; Gideon Lloyd 274t; Anna Grace Sipe 178; Sylvia Ivey, Tony Ivey, Sandy Ivey, Lorie Wootten, Marty Wootten, Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Scott Ivey 278b; Joseph Dunn 85; Garrett Sipe, Anna Grace Sipe, and Christopher Mann 47b; Syble Adams and David Ivey 472; Isaac Lloyd and Havilah Lloyd 317; Shane Wootten and Emily Senafield 505 (CB), 99.

Shane Wootten led 62 as the closing song. Phil Summerlin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Jared Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey