Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Newcastle Upon Tyne Sacred Harp Singing

St. Bartholomew’s Church Hall,
Benton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Saturday, June 4, 2016

The 12th annual Newcastle singing was called to order by Cath Tyler, who welcomed the class, and led 48t.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman—Cath Tyler; Secretary—Colin Monson; Treasurer—Phil Tyler; Arranging Committee—Phil Tyler, Benny Ross, Lin James, and Helen Barber.

Leaders: Phil Tyler 171; Mark Wardlaw 138b; Lin James 421; Joel Wallenberg 63; Claire Welford 122; Colin Monson 178; Sandy Semeonoff 32t; Josephine Ellis 479; Jan Geerts 313t; Sula O’Duffy 38b; Edwin Macadam 150; Hauke Grünefeld 168.


Sally Grieves-Lord called the class back together, and led 270. Leaders: Colin Higgins 296; Sheila Girling Macadam 500; Margaret Bradshaw 300; Geoff Grainger 535; Hilary Walton 335; Benny Ross 546; Ruth Holman 350; Charmaine Phelps 330t; Helen Barber 354b; Josh Darby 209; Mark Wardlaw 445; Lin James 148; Cath Tyler 367; Joel Wallenberg 113; Claire Welford 28b.


Sandy Semeonoff called the class to order, and led 119. Leaders: Colin Monson 107; Josephine Ellis 547; Jan Geerts 91; Sula O’Duffy 87; Helen Barber 538; Matthew Ord 228; Hauke Grünefeld 102; Calum Wood 460; Sally Grieves-Lord 111b; Colin Higgins 86; Sheila Girling Macadam 217; Margaret Bradshaw 318; Geoff Grainger 156.

Joel Wallenberg spoke for the sick and housebound, and led 32b for Jimmy Baily, Tony Benson, Lynn Carr, Sheila Dodsworth, Dot Green, Carmel Lipman, Josephine Phelps, and Karen Turner.

Benny Ross conducted the memorial lesson, leading 285t in memory of Charles Dodsworth and Brian Trowell—Oxford; Isabella Finnigan—Birmingham; Kirsty Grainger—New Zealand; Anthony Pears—France; Wendy Ross and Michael Spittal—London; Sylvia Smail and Derek Stapleton—Edinburgh; Joyce Stone—York; Dave Swarbrick—UK; Ivan Wilcox—Ripon; Suzanne Wilsher—Essex; Gordon Wilsher—Chelmsford; Eileen Wilson—Nailsea.

Edwin Macadam led 236. Lin James gave thanks for the midday meal.


Lin James called the class to order by leading 159. Leaders: Cath Tyler 448b; Helen Barber 362; Calum Wood 297; Sandy Semeonoff 319; Matthew Ord 339; Carmen Gordon 183; Jan Geerts 272; Claire Welford 276; Hauke Grünefeld 203; Josh Darby 504; Colin Monson 274t; Sula O’Duffy 117; Josephine Ellis 196; Colin Newton 313b; Sally Grieves-Lord 385b; Margaret Bradshaw 105; Mark Wardlaw 320; Ruth Holman and Sandy Semeonoff 496; Helen Barber and the children 146.


Sheila Girling Macadam called the class together by leading 39t. Leaders: Benny Ross 352; Geoff Grainger 163b; Joel Wallenberg 66; Phil Tyler 477; Edwin Macadam 332; Hilary Walton 47b; Sandy Semeonoff 68b; Helen Barber 284; Charmaine Phelps 333; Matthew Ord 179; Carmen Gordon 142; Sheila Girling Macadam 157; Calum Wood 495.

Cath Tyler extended thanks to all those who had helped during the day. Announcements were made. Cath led 323t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Josephine Ellis.

Chairman—Cath Tyler; Secretary—Colin Monson