Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boston Singing

St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Brookline, Massachusetts

Saturday, May 7, 2016

The 7th annual Boston All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was held at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Brookline, Massachusetts, on Saturday before the second Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Willis McCumber leading 47t. Micah John Walter offered the opening prayer.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Laura Borrelli; Vice Chairman—Christina Wallin; Secretaries—Emily Hale Sills and Micah John Walter.

Leaders: Laura Borrelli 335; Christina Wallin 72b; Emily Hale Sills and Micah John Walter 31t; Deidra Montgomery and Brian Harris 33b; Joanna Lieberman and Natalie Lieberman 37b; Mel Novner and Lisa Keegan 183; Bill Holt 191; Robert Dove 473; Zoë Madonna and Porter James 315; Ben Bath 217; George Dyment 215; George Pomfret 299; Tara Mulder 326; Ron Trial 276; Jessica Holland and Bill Holt 168; Ross Parker 474; Jesse Vear 432; Christopher Kain 282; Devereux Fuller 196; Richard Schmeidler 268; Mike Richards 426t; Bob Parr 112; Elizabeth Stoddard 165; Álvaro Witt Duarte 445.


Micah John Walter called the class back to order leading 388. Leaders: Becky Wright 272; Vale Cofer-Shabica 495; Lynne deBenedette 162; Philippa Stoddard 296; Ian Quinn 416; Kelsey Ivey 214; Andre Kuney 99; Ivy Hauser 123b; Charles Biada 60; Mary Skidmore 548; Nicholas Tuff 448b; Doug Donley 198; Ines Lüttgen 43; Leon Pulsinelle 441; Julius Pasay 111b; Leah Velleman and Álvaro Witt Duarte 68b; Chris Coughlin 512; Gwen Gethner 270; Richard Ivey 170; Paula Picton 171; Andrew Forsthoefel 542; Joanne Fuller 532; Chris Noren 507; Kshama Ananthapura 384; Angharad Davis 480. Leah Velleman offered the prayer before the noon meal.


Ben Vincent brought the class back to order leading 34t. Leaders: Liz Cantrell 142; Richard Ivey 411; Gwen Gethner 349; James Baumgartner 73t; Kelsey Ivey 444; Laura Hodges 394; Tom Malone 395; Pat Callahan 436; Doug Donley 344; Molly Bledsoe 380; Leon Pulsinelle 65; Emily Hancock 277; John Travers 66; Amy Valladares 383; Ian Quinn and Charles Biada 488; Laura Clawson 186; Andre Kuney 547; Joanne Fuller 500; Willis McCumber 385b; Mary Skidmore 269; Ivy Hauser and Becky Wright 447; Brian Harris 375; Jesse Vear and Elizabeth Stoddard 197; Julius Pasay 406; Liz Patton 376; Mike Richards and Vale Cofer-Shabica 546; Chris Coughlin, Deidra Montgomery, and Rachel Rudi 336.


Ben Bath led 192 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Eli Hetko 105; Richard Schmeidler 254; Emily Hancock and Philippa Stoddard 76b; Andrew Forsthoefel 504; Leah Velleman 53; Angharad Davis 379; Ben Vincent 442; Ines Lüttgen 453; Liz Cantrell and Ron Trial 455; Paula Picton and Kassie Urban-Mead 292; Mel Novner 400; Tara Mulder and Ross Parker 477; Tom Malone and Joanna Lieberman 318; Zoë Madonna and Christopher Kain 146; Robert Dove and George Pomfret 515; Kshama Ananthapura and Richard Ivey 216; Bob Parr 391; Bill Holt 550.

A business session was held to hear reports. The Secretaries reported that sixty-five leaders had led a total of ninety-eight songs. The Finance Committee reported that expenses had been met. The Resolutions Committee, led by Mel Novner, thanked those who had organized and helped with the singing as well as everyone in attendance, and resolved to meet again the following year on Saturday before the second Sunday in May.

Following announcements, Laura Borrelli, Christina Wallin, Micah John Walter, and Emily Hale Sills led 62 as the parting hand was taken. Brian Harris offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Laura Borrelli; Vice Chairman—Christina Wallin; Secretaries—Emily Hale Sills and Micah John Walter