Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, Dekalb County, Alabama

Sunday, April 10, 2016

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, was held on the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Jeffery Wootten and Jared Wootten leading 82t and 32t. Bro. Chris Boggs offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Jeffery Wootten, Jared Wootten, and Chris Boggs 97; Terry Wootten 376; Aaron Little 378t; Susan Cherones 300; Myra Dalton and Alex 203; Eschol Hughes 283; Angela Myers 348b; Amber Saylors and Spencer Saylors 277, 312b; Stephen Miller 463 (CB); Daniel Bearden 163b (in memory of a friend); Judy Chambless 37b; Teresa Saylors 209; Adrian Eldridge 107; Laura Densmore 29t; Brenda Carroll and Chris Carroll 299; Henry Johnson 102; Robert Chambless 225t (for Earlis McGraw).


Jeffery Wootten and Jared Wootten led 76b to bring the class together. Leaders: Rodney Ivey and David Ivey 53; Drew McGuire 472; Claudene Townson and family 448t, 68b; Sierra Saylors 504; Tom George 332; Judy Mincey 540; Mel Kersey 66; Donna Wootten and Anna Wootten 74b; Aaron Wootten 159; Wayne Wootten 155; Cheyenne Ivey 168; Nathan Stewart 222.

Shane Wootten conducted the memorial lesson. He read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Pauline Oliver, Delorese Lee, Johnny Lee, S.T. Reed, Wayne Reed, Janelle Davis, Ed Thacker, Margaret Thacker, Eloise Wootten, Marlon Wootten, Susan Harcrow, Walker Pike, and Susan Bingham. He then read the following list of names of the deceased: Sharon Noojin, Naomi Carroll, Donald Carroll, Joe Corbin, Wade Mitchell, Carl Frame, and Robert DuPree—Alabama; John Schaffer and Donald Klein—Colorado; Todd N. Thomas—Indiana; Robin Jones—Kentucky; Tom Watson—Tennessee; Bernice Thompson—Georgia; Loraine Bayer—Ohio.

Shane spoke of love for each other, love of God, and hope in Christ. He led 518 (CB). David Lee closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Syble Adams, Ronda Arnold, and Pam Wilkerson 505 (CB); Darlene Dalton 285t; Sarah Wootten 460; Robin Smith, Jeanette Mosteller, and Wilma Corbin 36b; Chris Boggs, Michelle Boggs, Eliza Boggs, Clayton Boggs, and Isaac Boggs 354b; Dewayne Wootten 441; Hayden Wootten, Cole Wootten, and Colby Brown 282, 313t; Jenny Mann, Britt Mann, Karolina Mann, Kaylee Mann, and Karlie Mann 30b, 500 (CB). Phil Summerlin asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jeffery Wootten and Jared Wootten leading 101t. Leaders: Richard Ivey 421; Linton Ballinger 212; Stacy Pilcher and Susan Pilcher 196; Marty Wootten, Levon Wootten, and Amanda Stewart 546; Terry Wootten, Dewayne Wootten, Marty Wootten, Levon Wootten, Patricia Wootten, and Amanda Stewart “Pass Me Not”; Jeffery Wootten, Kennedy Wootten, and Cole Wootten 445; Daniel Mosteller, Jeanette Mosteller, Leon Mosteller, Jimmy Mosteller, and Patricia Fleming 511b (CB); Tom Owen 108b; Scott Ivey and Isaac 375; James Eldridge 42; David Lee 39t; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 542; Eddie Mash 269; Don Bowen and Shane Wootten 465 (CB); Judy Caudle 455; Sonny Erwin 480; Darrell Swarens and Katherine Eldridge 77t; Gary Rogan and Vivian Rogan 146; Elene Stovall 142; Rick Foreman and Cheryl Foreman 135; Ben Fink 183; David Killingsworth 347; Brenda Dunlap 230; Louis Hughes 314; Phil Summerlin 270; Anita Landess and Becky Rice 31t; Corrie Van Duzer, Judy Van Duzer, Dani Lindholm, Paul Lindholm, Anita Landess, and Darlene Dalton 344; Virginia Eldridge 224; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; Michele Cull 128; Dennis George and Rodney Ivey 290 (by request); Loyd Ivey, Lorrie Wootten, and Shane Wootten 426t (in memory of Hobert Ivey); David Saylors 106; Charles Meitzler 182; Jenny Mann “Sweet Beulah Land”.

Announcements were made. Shane Wootten dismissed the class with prayer.

Co-Chairmen—Jeffery Wootten and Jared Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle