Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Potomac River Convention

The Grange, Great Falls, Virginia

April 2-3, 2016

Saturday, April 2

The annual session of the Potomac River Convention was called to order by Nora Miller leading 47t. Kevin Griffin Moreno offered the morning prayer.

The class went into a business session. The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Kelly Macklin; Vice Chairman—Brenda Dunlap; Secretaries—Kathy Manning, Zoe Plaugher, Robin Bisson, and Jim Glaser; Treasurer—Lucas Husted; Arranging Committee—Josh Barnett, Mary Helen Dupree, and Graham DeZarn.

Leaders: Kelly Macklin 171; Matt Roberts 455; Brenda Dunlap 409; Richard Green 163t; Mary Helen Dupree 64; Evan Duncan 122; Jessica Keyes 382; Tim Slattery 315; Mary Ann Daly 324; John delRe 133; Claire Chapin 497; Jim Glaser 438; Joyce Wade 268; Adrian Mariano 296; Kathy Manning 335; Lee Schumacher 117; Joni Seidenstein 106; Joel Miller 404; Julia Seidenstein 284; Lucas Husted 227.


The class was called back together by Corinne Ducey leading 73t. Leaders: Barbara Barry 506; Matt Ference 368; Cat Tucker 454; John Alexander 102; Kat Kohorst 131b; Lamar Matthew 156; Adrienne Robertson 300; Ben Shirley 38b; Abigail Beavin 67; Kevin Griffin Moreno 192; Diane Ober 410t; Leon Pulsinelle 228; Rachel Hall 410b; Guy Bankes 543; Liz Meitzler 68b; Joshua Barnett 384; Lydia Llewallen 114; Graham DeZarn 201; Mel Novner 208; Merry Bruns 229; Kyle Johnston 61.


The class was called back to order by Mary Helen Dupree leading 87. Leaders: Joel Miller 100; Chris Wolf 203; Ina Shea 130; Myles Dakan 542; Carol Buche 86; Jesse Polhemus 426t; Nora Miller 379; Karl Dise 417; Sophie Soloway 442; Patrick Friesen 196; Becca Gibson 500; Jesse Krikorian 128; Corinne Ducey 492; Mary Langley 416; Rachel Speer 470; Owen Kelley 105; Bridget Camden 110; Kyle Johnston 99; Molly Hickman 376; Adrienne Robertson 59; Jill Geroca 144; Dean Jens 536; Mel Novner 270; Elissa Kreig 159; Matt Roberts 112.


The class was called together by Joshua Barnett leading 76b. Leaders: Leon Pulsinelle 278t; Lydia Llewallen 445; Les Updike 373; Martha Burns 288; Rachel Hall 181; Robin Betz 178; Karl Dise 320; Susan Green 272; Jessica Keyes 480; Pat Hilgard 254; Myles Dakan 138t; Abigail Beavin 426b; Guy Bankes 352; Carol Buche 547; Patrick Friesen 436; Bev Yaeger 142; Ina Shea 456; Jesse Polhemus 560; Jesse Krikorian 96; Julia Seidenstein 39t; Chris Wolf 200; Becca Gibson 405; Lamar Matthew 522; Sophie Soloway 398; Kevin Griffin Moreno 354t; Rachel Speer 217; Ben Shirley 294; Diane Ober 551; Joel Miller 329.

Kelly Macklin led 323t as the closing song. Kevin Griffin Moreno offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, April 3

The Sunday session of the Potomac River Convention was brought to order by Kelly Macklin leading 140 (ShH). Song selections were from the Shenandoah Harmony.

Leaders: Jim Glaser 293 (ShH); Mary Ann Daly 21 (ShH); Lucas Husted 114 (ShH); Bev Yaeger 310 (ShH); Tim Slattery 264b (ShH); Nora Miller 385 (ShH); Matt Roberts 78 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 422 (ShH); Graham DeZarn 46 (ShH); Gillie Campbell 1b (ShH); Kevin Griffin Moreno 416 (ShH); Joni Seidenstein 241 (ShH); Joel Miller 184 (ShH); Claire Chapin 80 (ShH); Josh Barnett 36 (ShH); Adrian Mariano 278 (ShH); Jessica Keyes 105 (ShH); John Alexander 434 (ShH); Corinne Ducey 145 (ShH).


The class was called back to order by John D. delRe leading 363b (ShH). Leaders: Liz Meitzler 15 (ShH); Ben Shirley 79 (ShH); Julia Seidenstein 320 (ShH); Robin Bisson 431 (ShH); Kat Kohorst 424b (ShH); Dean Jens 227 (ShH); Cheryl Mitchell 191 (ShH); Chris Wolf 319 (ShH); Bridget Camden 60 (ShH); Jesse Krikorian 112 (ShH); Abigail Beavin 34 (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 171 (ShH); Peter Pate 2 (ShH); Rachel Hall 154 (ShH); Barbara Barry 225 (ShH); Gerald Clark 236 (ShH); Kyle Dice 403b (ShH); Miranda Elliot-Rader 22b (ShH); Kyle Johnston 404 (ShH).

The memorial lesson was conducted by John W. delRe. “We come to the singings large and small for a complicated mix of socializing, music, and spirituality.” John quoted: ‘And then there is also a need that each should understand where he came from and what she is- and what will become of him’ Archbishop of York, Wulfstan 1002-1023. We remembered the following sick and shut-ins: Rosalie Duncan, Ethel Strube, Ralph Lee Smith, Frank Duncan, April Majka, Laura Densmore, Martin Kilmer, Helen Slattery, Sue Nord, and Alan Jabbour.

We remembered the following deceased: Oliver Kindig-Stokes, Betty Hanf, Mary Mullen—Pennslyvania; Robert DuPree—Alabama; Loraine Bayer—Ohio; David Strother, Rocky Fagan, and Jim Fagan—Maryland; Pat Goodman, Hayden Hurst, and Jamie Pocklington—Virginia; Larry Manahan—Minnesota; Joseph Trevellin—Illinois; Brian Love—Connecticut; Alice Rainaldi, Toney Rainaldi, Francesca Costantino, and Ernesto Costantino—Michigan; Leon J. Pulsinelle, Hugh Kilmer, and Joe Neighmond—New Jersey; Madeline Rockcastle and Verne Rockcastle—New York; Prennis Page—North Carolina; John Schaffer—Colorado. John led 380 (ShH). Kevin Griffin Moreno led a prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Thomas Ward 129 (ShH), Jim Glaser 127 (ShH).


The class was called back to order by Matt Roberts leading 1b (ShH). Leaders: Myles Dakan 1t (ShH); Becca Gibson 290 (ShH); Jesse Polhemus 99 (ShH); Jimmy Brady 296 (ShH); Ina Shea 398 (ShH); Michael Nord 242 (ShH); Lydia Llewellen 364b (ShH); Patrick Friesen 96b (ShH); Carol Buche 110 (ShH); Thomas Ward 169 (ShH); Sophie Soloway 14 (ShH); Lucas Husted 266 (ShH); Rachel Speer 60b (ShH); Karl Dise 125 (ShH); Martha Burns 260 (ShH); Rachel Hall 324 (ShH); Jesse Krikorian 170 (ShH); Jessica Keyes 381 (ShH); Gerald Clark 76 (ShH).


Bethany Towne called the class together leading 339b (ShH). Leaders: Nora Miller 329 (ShH); Bridget Camden 287 (ShH); Dean Jens 414b (ShH); Rachel Hall, Jesse Krikorian, Thomas Ward, Ina Shea, and Bethany Towne 254 (ShH); Corinne Ducey 253 (ShH); Joni Seidenstein 326b (ShH); Kelly Macklin and Josh Barnett 417 (ShH); Robert Landrum 16 (ShH); Graham DeZarn 104b (ShH); Carol Buche 140b (ShH); Kevin Griffin Moreno 130 (ShH); Robin Bisson 17 (ShH); Miranda Elliot-Rader 81 (ShH); Lucas Husted and Michael Nord 113 (ShH); Lydia Llewallen, Kyle Johnston, and Abigail Beavin 3b (ShH); Myles Dakan 323 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap and Mary Helen Dupree 305 (ShH); Jesse Polhemus, Sophie Soloway, and Patrick Friesen 239 (ShH); Matt Roberts 457 (ShH); Josh Barnett and Chris Wolf 248b (ShH); Becca Gibson and John delRe 56 (ShH).

Kelly Macklin led 157 (ShH) as the closing song. Brenda Dunlap offered resolutions. Kevin Griffin Moreno asked for a blessing on the day.

Chairman—Kelly Macklin; Vice Chairman—Brenda Dunlap; Secretaries—Kathy Manning, Mary Helen Dupree, Zoe Plaugher, Jim Glaser, and Robin Bisson