Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Central Ontario Singing

Detweiler Meetinghouse, North Dumfries, Ontario

Saturday, August 22, 2015

The 12th annual Central Ontario All-Day Singing was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Frances Miller and Frank Griggs leading 47t. Anne Evers offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairpersons—Frances Miller and Frank Griggs; Secretary and Arranging Officer—Gillian Inksetter; Treasurers—Anne Evers and Tom Evers.

Leaders: Frances Miller and Frank Griggs 171; Gillian Inksetter 39t, 208; Jan May 569b, 540; Anne Evers 65, 117; Nicole Collins 178, 86; Idy Kiser and Sally Keisling 472, 108b; Faiz Wareh 418, 482; Elizabeth Barlow 328, 145b; Pleasance Crawford 187, 402.


Kathleen McDonnell brought the class to order leading 217. Leaders; Brian How 547 (for Katie White), 183; Cindy Dymond 538, 66; Patty Wareh 479, 228; Lyn Caswell 371, 34b; Hanna Barlow 497, 496; Andrew Patten 284, 457; Cora Wareh 122, 481; Barbara Hohenstein 506, 445.


Greg Jenkins brought the class to order by leading 32t. Leaders: Gerry Hoffman 101t, 564; Anne Evers and Tom Evers 180; Tarik Wareh 460, 424; Steve Rogers 439, 504.

Pleasance Crawford and Chuck Crawford conducted the memorial lesson. Pleasance spoke, and led 50b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Ron Bornick, Margaret Bornick, Steven Hout, Lynn Hout, Susan Bingham, Claudene Townson, Bill Gray, Stephani Slutz, Maria S, Katie White, Lance Barkley, Frank Fraembs, Janet Fraembs, Beegee Rechenberg, Bess Fitzgerald, Emma Stoepker, Julie Vea, Johanna Fabke, Berkley Moore, and Melanie Hauff.

Pleasance then spoke and led 176t in memory of the following deceased: Wendy Coburn and Victor McCorry—Ontario; Raymond Hamrick, Junie Wootten, Joyce Harrison, Josephine Denney, C.W. Garner, and George Garner—Georgia; Ruth Densmore—Pennsylvania; Robert DuPree, Stanly Edwards, Betty Wright, Sammie Oliver, and Evelyn Harris—Alabama; Dan Adams—Connecticut; David Rust—Indiana; Danny Arms—North Carolina; Joe Fothergill—Ohio; Caroline Bonnet and Robert How—California; Bob Scorgie—Wisconsin; Alfred McDounell—Colorado.

Dean Knuth led 27 and 107. Frank Griggs led “Lutheran Table Grace” to the tune of 49t as a sung blessing before dinner.


Chuck Crawford brought the class to order leading 87. Leaders: Hanna Barlow 480, 299; Dean Knuth 28t, 180; Samuel Sommers 54, 548; Anne Steel 318, 348b; Giles Simmer and Gillian Inksetter 63, 228; Gerry Hoffman 458, 371; Cindy Dymond 65, 32b; Jonathon Smith 360, 419; Ellen Torrie 457, 64; Steve Rogers and Gary Roth “Geneva” (NHS/HS 85/96) (in recognition of the Harmonia Sacra tradition of the Detweiler Meetinghouse).


Frances Miller led 31t to bring the class to order. Leaders: Marian Mitchell 267, 202; Laurie Dempsey 276; Jamie Yeats 154, 148; Brad Young 64; Barbara Swetman 254, 155; Dan Brown 147t, 147b; Doron Henkin 500, 501; David Mercer, Gwen Mercer, and Ted Mercer 411; Gary Roth and Gillian Inksetter 373, 195; Gillian Inksetter “Geneva” (HS).


The class was brought back together by Frank Griggs leading 372. Leaders: Anne Missavage 474, 137; Kathleen McDonnell 209; Laura Densmore 522, 549; Laura Roth and Kim Kendrick 159; Bob Borcherding 440, 448b; Martha Beverly 368, 464 (for Melanie and Judy Hauff); Linda Heemskirk 452, 45t; Cecelia Kramer 198; 485; Jim Page 212, 351; Ted Mercer 352, 50t; Tom Evers 448t.

Frank and Frances thanked all who helped make the singing a success. The Treasurers reported that expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that eighty-five singers from five states and one province had attended, and that forty-five leaders led eighty-five songs.

Following announcements, Frances Miller and Frank Griggs led 347 as the closing song. Anne Evers offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairpersons—Frances Miller and Frank Griggs; Secretary—Gillian Inksetter