Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pine Grove Singing

Pine Grove Church, Collinsville, Alabama

Sunday, April 19, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama, was held on the third Sunday in April. The class was called to order by David Ivey. He taught a singing school, explaining the notes of the four-shape scale, and the class practiced singing the scale.

Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver welcomed the class and led 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Donnie Reed.

Leaders: Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver 108b; S.T. Reed 35; Rodney Ivey 42; Judy Caudle 421; Alanna Blanks 551; Aaron Wootten 101t; Katherine Eldridge 125; Daniel Lee 565; Nate Green and Norma Green 475 (for B.M. Smith); Henry Johnson 409; Loretta Smith 37b; Hayden Wootten 47t.


Scot Oliver and Eric Blanks led 496. Leaders: Cindy Tanner 436; Jim Brown 159; Virginia Eldridge 570; Martin Baer 457; Jared Wootten 36b; Scott Ivey and Anna Wootten 65; Paula Oliver 142; Rachel Ray and Audrey Ward 49t; Jamey Wootten 378b; Cheyenne Ivey and Sarah Mikel 108t; Arleigh Beard and Alanna Blanks 405; Boyd Scott 358; James Eldridge 428; Richard Ivey 329; Mike Richards 99; Eddie Mash 189.


James Eldridge led 34t to bring the class together. Leaders: David Brodeur 66; Franklin Lowe and Jerrod Miller 59; Susan Cherones 460; Michael Arthur 82t; Terry Wootten 201; Linda Thomas 106; Dewayne Wootten 170; Taylor Williams and Emily Wood 45t; David Ivey 48t; Shane Wootten 542 (for Ed Thacker); Angela Myers 498; Marty Wootten 472; Darrell Swarens 507; David Hufstetler 163b; Adrian Eldridge 326. Henry Johnson asked a blessing on the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session began with Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey leading 111t. Leaders: Dennis George 192; Judy Caudle and Angela Myers 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Tom George 523; Susan Cherones 300; Nate Green and Norma Green 131b; Aaron Wootten 39t; Henry Johnson 288; Hayden Wootten 31t; Loretta Smith 317; Rodney Ivey 388 (for S.T. Reed); Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 73t; Courtney Baine 401; Boyd Scott and Loretta Smith 68b; Katherine Eldridge 61; Daniel Lee 171; David Brodeur 328; Shane Wootten 176t; Adrian Eldridge 476; Mike Richards 129; Eddie Mash 505; Virginia Eldridge 113; Alanna Blanks and Eric Blanks 176b; Scott Ivey and Anna Wootten 56t; Darrell Swarens 208; James Eldridge 179; Paula Oliver 196; Richard Ivey 567; Jim Brown 268 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Franklin Lowe and Kiley Smith 282; Donnie Reed 235; Thomas Jenkins 154; Cindy Tanner 155.

Announcements were made. Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver led 62 as the closing song. Donnie Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Honorary Chairman—S.T. Reed; Co-Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle