Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Collegiate Singing

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Saturday, February 14, 2015

The 17th annual session of the Alabama Collegiate Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Student Center of Canterbury Episcopal Chapel on the campus of the University of Alabama on Saturday before the third Sunday in February. Nikos Pappas welcomed the class, and led 73b. Ed Thacker offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Stephen Smith 235; Gravis Ballinger 120; Amber Davis 192; Pamela Minor 34b; Nicholas Thompson 172; Margaret Thacker 178; Jack Pate 145b; Jan Herlinger 139; Elene Stovall 316; Nate Green and Norma Green 425; Warren Steel 396; Larry Ballinger 151; Matthew Edwards 40; Scott Ivey 48t; Judy Caudle 500; Steve Shearon 155; Hubert Nall 176b; Bea Aaron 568; Eugene Forbes 203; Shelby Castillo and Larry Ballinger 217; Richard Mauldin 168; Leslie Brady 31b; Lisa Geist 528.


Nikos Pappas brought the class back to order, and led 223. Nikos then invited university students in attendance into the square and led 222. Leaders: Lucy Heidorn 460; Zilpha Cornett 122 (in memory of Charles Kitchens); Loyd Ivey 283; Ed Thacker 532; Shane Wootten 440; Susan Cherones 300; Reba Windom 318; Sarah Beasley 340; Beth Branscome 208; Lomax Ballinger 67; Drew McGuire 477; Mary Amelia Taylor 474; Jim Aaron 47b; Eddie Pierce 282.


Nikos Pappas brought the class back to order by leading 162. Leaders: Mike Richards 299; Bill Stewart 569b; Leslie Sheppard 303; Elene Stovall, Zilpha Cornett, Jerry Kitchens and Judy Caudle 385b (in memory of Mary Kitchens Gardner); Larry Ballinger 224 (in memory of Johnny Humber, Rena Humber, and Jean Ballinger); Nikos Pappas 503 (in memory of Raymond Hamrick); Richard Mauldin 43 (in memory of Stella Pratt); Scott Ivey and Loyd Ivey 47t (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Steve Shearon 159 (in memory of Katherine Hull). Ed Thacker offered the thanksgiving prayer before the noon meal.


Nikos Pappas brought the class back to order by leading 276. A business session was held in which the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Nikos Pappas; Vice Chairman—Tim Cook; Arranging Officer—Scott Ivey; Secretary—Stephen Smith.

Leaders: Seth Holloway 236; Elene Stovall 436; Scott Ivey 428; Amber Davis 391; Stephen Smith 319; Ed Thacker 89; Jack Pate 152; Nicholas Thompson and Reba Windom 216; Eugene Forbes 422; Warren Steel 320; Zilpha Cornett 480; Loyd Ivey 89; Lisa Geist 269; Lucy Heidorn and David Heidorn 146; Jim Aaron 68b; Bea Aaron 475; Hubert Nall 566; Richard Mauldin 551; Drew McGuire 33b; Judy Caudle 389; Jerry Kitchens 56t; Sarah Beasley 129; Mike Richards 189; Eddie Pierce 117; Beth Branscome 430; Shelby Castillo 273; Matthew Edwards 84; Reba Windom 186; Mary Amelia Taylor 270; Pamela Minor and Leslie Sheppard 63; Nikos Pappas 196.

Announcements were made. Nikos Pappas led 267 as the closing song. Ed Thacker offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Nikos Pappas; Vice Chairman—Tim Cook; Secretary—Stephen Smith