Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chicago Anniversary Singing

Kilbourn Park Fieldhouse, Chicago, Illinois

Sunday, January 11, 2015

The 30th Chicago Anniversary Singing was held at the Kilbourn Park Fieldhouse, Chicago, Illinois, on the second Sunday in January. Anne Heider called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. and led 171. Susan Geil offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Lisa Grayson 178; Eileen Ferguson 84; Orwin Youngquist 153; Mary Rogel 556; Jan Ketelle 36b; Carol Ann Munro 392; Lori Graber 328.

In a business meeting, the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairpersons—Lisa Grayson and Ann Sleeva; Vice Chairpersons—Dave Barford and Debbie Barford; Secretary—Eileen Ferguson.

Leaders: Gary Plazyck 159; Rochelle Lodder 276; Katy Kanfer 155; Jim Swanson 560; Jim Helke 399t; Daniel Hunter 398; Leon Pulsinelle 384; Ann Miczulski 361; Doug Stapleton 485; James Gingerich 455; Alec Jenkins-White 383; Shaun Fenton 47t; Ginnie Landgraf 125; David Barford 540. Ann Sleeva announced the Memorial Committee: Marcia Johnson and Nathan Rees.


Debbie Barford called the class to order leading 29t. Leaders: Susan Geil 31t; Megan Dunning 373; James Page 272; Terry Cunningham 146; Sam Singleton-Freeman 268; Jeff Breting 448t; Cecelia Kramer 430; Melanie Hauff and Judy Hauff 216; Nathan Berry 401; Randy Neufeld 47b; Carol V. Crawford 306; Jerry Gripshover and Jim Helke 87; Ann Missavage 280; Aldo Ceresa 431; Michael Mosley 434; Marian Mitchell 284.


David Barford brought the class back together by leading 37b. Leaders: Cathryn Bearov 372; AnnaLeigh Smith 505; Larry Nothwehr 547; Dan Nickel 39t.

Nathan Rees spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins and read the following list of names: David Buchanan, Lonnie Hurst, Melody Brown, Julie Uea, Johanna Fabke, Joe Harrington, Linda Borucki, Anne Wallingford, August Roeser, Steven Anthony, Mary Owen, Judith Klein, Bernice Harvey, John Seaton, Beverly Rose Enright, Marianne Eberhardt, Bob Scorgie, Loraine Bayer, Lee Dexheimer, Eileen Buchanan, Evelyn Harris, Bill Windom, Shirley Holley, Bob Sullivan, Toney Smith, and Lavoy Smith. Nathan Rees led 39b.

Marcia Johnson gave the memorial lesson, and read the following list of names of the deceased: Stanly Edwards—Alabama/Oregon; Raymond Hamrick, Mary Hamilton—Georgia; Joanne Grande, Brenda Overton, Kristi Symons—Illinois; Odis Abbott, Gideon Fryer, Virginia Lea Tolley Duke—Tennessee; Sandra Zeiset Richardson—Washington. Marcia Johnson led 288. Carol Ann Munro offered prayer.

Leaders: Steve Warner 474; Jonathan Smith 444; Daniel Braithwaite 531; Anna Pfau 564; Ted Johnson and Jim Sanabria 222. Ginnie Landgraf led the class in prayer to offer grace before the noon meal.


Lisa Grayson brought the class back to order by leading 192. Leaders: Ted Mercer 53; Michael Apert 107; Jim Crawford 228; Petrina Patti 217; Judy Hauff 275t; Anne Heider 394; Nathan Rees 380; Marcia Johnson 368; Debbie Barford and Angela Rosis 282; Laura May Noble 504; Mark Dawson 236; Jan Ketelle 212; Daniel Hunter 370; James Gingerich 448b; James Page 168; Randy Neufeld 270; Jonathan Smith 202. Larry Nothwehr gave the founders lesson. Founders Ted and Marcia Johnson, Kris Richardson, Ginny Warren, Terry Cunningham, Ted Mercer, and Judy Hauff joined him in the square to lead 189.


Nathan Berry and Dan Hunter led 79 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Anna Missavage and Cecelia Kramer 77t; Aldo Ceresa 522; Ryan Hill 338; Jeff Guhin and Steve Warner 49t; AnnaLeigh Smith 477; Leon Pulsinelle 341; Katy Kanfer 542; Shawn Fenton 428; Alec Jenkins-White 99; Marian Mitchell 335; Ann Miczulski 30t; Carol V. Crawford 535; Sam Singleton-Freeman 122; Nathan Berry 185. Lisa Grayson and Ann Sleeva thanked the committees and singers. The finance committee announced that we almost met our financial needs. Illinois Arts Council made a grant to us.

Lisa Grayson and Ann Sleeva led 347 as the closing song. Jeanine Oakes Daugherty dismissed the class with a prayer.

Chairpersons—Lisa Grayson and Ann Sleeva; Vice Chairpersons—Dave Barford and Debbie Barford; Secretary—Eileen Ferguson