Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, Collinsville, Alabama

August 23-24, 2014

Saturday, August 23

The 111th session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order by Wayne Reed and Donnie Reed leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Donnie Reed. Wayne Reed welcomed the class, and then led 59.

Leaders: S.T. Reed 48t, 74b; Cindy Tanner 155; Judy Caudle 131b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 134; Ricky Harcrow 142; Mary Wright 477; Katherine Eldridge 166; Kathy Williams 50b; Daniel Lee 65; Henry Johnson 138t; Doug Conn 430; Phil Summerlin 97; Emma Rose Brown 432; Boyd Scott 358; Richard Ivey 172.


The class was brought back to order by Wayne Reed leading 108t. Leaders: Blake Sisemore 42 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Karen Rollins 274t; B.M. Smith 475; Elene Stovall and Paula Picton 200; Lynne deBenedette 542; Rodney Ivey 411; Pat Temple and Kathy Williams 373; Angela Myers 31t; Janice Paulk 222; Karen Covi 276; Darrell Swarens 314 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Lauren Bock 309; Nate Green and Norma Green 492; Linton Ballinger 306; Phillipa Stoddard 215; Ron Harper 203; Becky Browne 211; Shane Wootten and Syble Adams 171; Wyatt Denney 277.


Cindy Tanner led 101t to bring the class back together. Leaders: David Brodeur 196; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 436; Rebecca Eldridge 396; Chris Coughlin 332; Gary Gronau 377; Louis Hughes 425; Carolyn Thompson 53; Daphene Causey 140; Scott Ivey 421; Paula Picton 428; Roberta Strauss 218; Karen Ivey 91; Barrett Patton 39b (for Ed and Margaret Thacker); Linda Thomas 39t; Anna Hinton 40; Bea Aaron 456; Bridgett Kennedy 383 (in memory of Mattie Townsel); David Ivey and Daphene Causey 336; Philip Denney 61. Donnie Reed offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Rodney Ivey leading 111t. A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Honorary Chairman—S.T. Reed; Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Finance Officer—Rodney Ivey; Memorial Committee—Alanna Blanks and Henry Johnson; Chaplain—Donnie Reed.

Leaders: Scot Oliver 176b; James Eldridge 418; Erin Johnson-Hill 392; Sharon DuPriest 546; Anne Drexler 282; Cheyenne Ivey 472; Alvaro Witt Duarte 528; Rene Greene 297; John Plunkett 232; Loyd Ivey 454; Virginia Eldridge 184; Ben Fink 547; Reba Windom 186 (in memory of Barrett Ashley); Matt Hinton 460; Paula Oliver 340; Evan Druce 112; Kelsey Ivey 458; Adrian Eldridge 312t; Jim Aaron 503; Coy Ivey 384; Judy Mincey 169; Karen Freund 300; Jerusha Wheeler 107; Virginia Douglas 49b; Susan Cherones 564; Paul Davis 159; Alanna Blanks 405; Michael Likos 81t; David Gooch and Scott Ivey 317.

Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey led 56t as the closing song. Donnie Reed dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 24

The Sunday session of the Lookout Mountain Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Rodney Ivey and Donnie Reed leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Shane Wootten. Donnie Reed welcomed the class.

Leaders: Donnie Reed and Rodney Ivey 59; Cindy Tanner 512; Judy Caudle 85; Larry Ballinger 84; Gail Doss 148; Delone Cobbs 32t; Amy Armstrong, Seth Langer, and Zach Kevorkian 99; Anne Drexler 34b; Robert Chambless 354t; B.M. Smith 155 (for Evelyn Harris); Buell Cobb 266; Earl Ballinger 439; Hayden Arp 204; Ben Fink 114; Rachel Rudi 302; Gravis Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger 142; Michael Walker 138b; Max Bruce 36b; Roberta Strauss 269; Daniel Bearden 487; Christopher Mann 39t; Wanda Capps 216; Eloise Wootten and Shane Wootten 318; Eschol Hughes 456; Judy Chambless 209; J.R. Harden 473.


Scot Oliver and Bryant Beard led 68b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Brenda Carroll 299; Jackie Tanner 76b; Eli Hinton 65; Marty Wootten 475; Eulene Dobbs, Lou Doty, Hannah Doty, and Lynn Cushion 108t; Ann Jett, Wanda Capps, and Cindy Tanner 167; Chris Ballinger 276; Alanna Blanks, Sheryl Beard, Bryant Beard, and Paula Oliver 551; Tony Ivey and Sandy Ivey 201; Mark Carroll 480; Andrew Wells 110; Jamey Wootten and Scott Ivey 73t; Erica Hinton 324; Shawn Carroll and Kinsey Carroll 40; Loretta Smith 317; Christopher Wolfe 162; Bob Watkins 345t; Darrell Swarens and Rodney Ivey 270 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Mary Wright 328; Susan Cherones 300; James Eldridge 336; Gary Gronau 163t; Angela Myers 500; Pat Temple 33t; Chris Coughlin 489; Kathy Williams 54; Phillipa Stoddard 132; Barrett Patton 349; Boyd Scott 58; Alvaro Witt Duarte 343; Paula Picton and Erin Johnson-Hill 192; Richard Ivey 268.


Scot Oliver and Paula Oliver led 101t to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Rebecca Eldridge 410t; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 542; David Brodeur 550; Elene Stovall 189 (for Mary Ruth Stiefel).

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Alanna Blanks read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Louise Holland, Nora Parker, Geraldine Sharpton, Ed Thacker, Margaret Thacker, Betty Wright, Mary Ruth Stiefel, Evelyn Harris, Darrell Criss, Henry McGuire, Alison Mitchell Zunklei, Brad Oglesby, and Brenda Rechenberg. She then read the following list of names of the deceased: C.T. Williams, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Hobert Ivey, Genny Whitworth, Alisha Williams, Stanly Edwards, Lewis Norton, Ollie Tetloff—Alabama; Junie O. Wooten—Georgia; Sharon Kellam—North Carolina; Carroll Lunsford—California; Adrienne Welsh—Florida; and Ron Smith.

Henry Johnson spoke, using the poetry from the song “Morning Prayer” as his text. Rodney Ivey led 411. Michael Walker offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Jesse P. Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 442; Loyd Ivey 283; Daniel Lee 497; David Hufstetler 457; Sharon DuPriest and Daphene Causey 137; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Alex Makris 312b; Henry Johnson 230; Paul Davis and Richard Ivey 212; Becky Browne 421; Kelsey Ivey and David Ivey 215; Virginia Eldridge and Adrian Eldridge 83t; Katherine Eldridge 71; Lynne deBenedette and Karen Freund 30b; David Gooch and Kelsey Ivey 319; Emma Rose Brown 322; Susan Harcrow 430; Evan Druce 228; S.T. Reed 108b (in memory of Dallas Reed).

Following announcements, Donnie Reed and Rodney Ivey led 146 as the closing song. Tony Ivey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle