Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 12-13, 2014

Saturday, July 12

The 121st session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Cullman County Courthouse on the second Sunday and Saturday before in July. The class was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 46. Darrell Swarens offered the opening prayer. Glenn Keeton led 64.

In a business session, the following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Brenda Chafin; Arranging Officer—Carolyn Thompson; Finance Officer—Bea Aaron; Memorial Committee—Linda Sides and Lisa Geist; Chaplain—Darrell Swarens.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 475 (in memory of the deceased); Christopher Mann 86; Darrell Swarens 171; Brenda Chafin 72b; Bea Aaron 568; Carolyn Thompson 77t; Karen Clark 569t; Richard Mauldin 290; Linda Sides 215; Lisa Geist 391; Daniel Bearden 539; Hazel Heinze 63; Jerry Kitchens 105; Jim Aaron 503; Sandie Scott 385b; Nate Green and Norma Green 439; Amber Davis 192 (for Elsie Moon); Geraldine Sharpton 318.


Glenn Keeton led 101t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Ottis Sides 530; Linda Booth 397; Rebecca Over 505; Nicholas Thompson 56b; Judy Caudle 472; Jack Pate 282; Cathy Ponder 523; Becky Strickland 481; Mary Amelia Taylor 396; J.C. Rutledge 401; Hubert Nall 176b; Charles McCravy 87.


The class was brought back together by Richard Mauldin leading 446. Leaders: Delone Cobbs, Garrett Sipe, and Anna Grace Sipe 39b; David Carlton 180; Elene Stovall 371; Butch White 178; Eugene Forbes 434; Steve Adams and Carolyn Thompson 339; Cindy Mann 159; Kathy Williams 297; Amber Griffith 280; Lucy Heidorn 155; Linda Thomas 106; Carolyn Thompson, Ginger Davis, and John Davis 47b. Darrell Swarens returned thanks before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Glenn Keeton leading 150. Leaders: Karen Clark 234; Rebecca Over 430; Susan Allred 183; Linda Booth 196; Jim Aaron 68b; Darrell Swarens 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde); Becky Strickland 59; Sandie Scot 277; David Carlton 198; Judy Caudle 542; Charles McCravy 143; Cathy Ponder 98; Nicholas Thompson 107; Jack Pate 145b; Mary Amelia Taylor 203; Geraldine Sharpton 299; Cindy Mann and Christopher Mann 38b; Amber Griffith 47t; Bea Aaron 456; Linda Sides 454; Eugene Forbes 189; Elene Stovall and Linda Thomas 534; Hazel Heinze 452; Kathy Williams 479; Amber Davis 224; Lisa Geist 273; Butch White 535; Hubert Nall 566; Daniel Bearden 289; Carolyn Thompson 53; Richard Mauldin 168; Steve Adams 378t; Brenda Chafin 137; Jennifer Clay and Brandon Cogle 39t, 358; Carolyn Thompson and David Knight 268 (in memory of Paul Revere Knight).

Glenn Keeton and Richard Mauldin led 267 as the closing song. Darrell Swarens dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, July 13

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 274t. The opening prayer was offered by Darrell Swarens.

Leaders: Brenda Chafin 168, 142; Bea Aaron 341, 119; Richard Mauldin 89, 551; Carolyn Thompson 42, 278t; Lisa Geist 546, 528; Linda Booth 275t, 350; Gravis Ballinger 312b, 36b; Susan Allred 378b, 112; Darrell Swarens 49b, 43 (in memory of Josie Hyde).


Richard Mauldin led 358 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Geraldine Sharpton 120, 66; Judy Caudle 325, 335 (by request); Ottis Sides 322, 97; Larry Ballinger 98, 282; Rebecca Over 144, 498; J.C. Rutledge 568, 569b; Hazel Heinze 86, 84; Dick Nail 383, 300; Linda Sides 182, 225t; Kathy Williams 175, 37b; Amber Davis 29t, 440; Kermit Adams 225b, 339; Jerry Kitchens 338, 499; Dylan Feezell 145t, 435. Darrell Swarens offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Glenn Keeton led 343 to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Carolyn Thompson 500; Rebecca Over 437; Steve Adams 331; Linda Booth 28b; Kris Richardson 547; Darrell Swarens and Kathy Williams 208; Loretta Whitman 129; Marlin Beasley 40 (for Dennis Beasley).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Linda Sides and Lisa Geist. Linda spoke, and Lisa read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Dennis Beasley, Elsie Moon, Kenny Graves, Buell Cobb, Stanly Edwards, Ozella Blackmon, Willodean Barton, S.T. Reed, Sammie Oliver, Betty Wright, Don Bowen, Brad Bahler, Sarah Beasley, Coy Ivey, Jean Ballinger, Johnny Humber, Reva Humber, and Stella Pratt. They led 70t.

Linda Sides spoke in memory of the deceased, and Lisa Geist read the following list of names: C.T. Williams, Hobert Ivey, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Mary Kitchens Gardner, Lessie Reed, Josie Hyde, Genny Whitworth, Mike Nunn, Nadine Willis, Wendell Wakefield, and Joan Gilbreath—Alabama; Mary Lou Reynolds—Tennessee; Carlene Griffin and Teenie Moody—Georgia; Hugh Bill McGuire—Mississippi; Carroll Lundsford—California. They led 48t in memory of the deceased. Linda Sides closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 276; Gravis Ballinger 215; Bea Aaron 475; Hazel Heinze 515; Dick Nail and Rebecca Over 436; Larry Ballinger 56t; Carolyn Thompson, David Knight, and James Knight 268 (in memory of Paul Revere Knight); Amber Davis 192; Richard Mauldin 35; Susan Allred 399b; Geraldine Sharpton 421; J.C. Rutledge 560; Ottis Sides 61; Kathy Williams and Kris Richardson 217; Becky Strickland 72b; Linda Sides 106; Dylan Feezell 506; Judy Caudle and Shane Carter 218; Lisa Geist 269 (by request); Glenn Keeton 270; Marlin Beasley and Becky Strickland 571 (CB); Carolyn Thompson 455 (by request); Glenn Keeton 63 (for the Cullman Times reporter).

Following announcements, Glenn Keeton and Richard Mauldin led 62 as the closing song. Darrell Swarens offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Brenda Chafin