Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

St. Joseph’s on the Mountain Episcopal Church

Mentone, Alabama

Saturday, May 17, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at St. Joseph’s on the Mountain Episcopal Church, Mentone, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in May was called to order by Susan Cherones leading 59. She welcomed the class. Ed Thacker offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Susan Cherones; Secretary/Arranging Officer—Cindy Tanner.

Leaders: Susan Cherones 300; Michael Walker 313t; Max Bruce 285t; Amy Smith and Loretta Smith 37b; Michael Thompson 37t; Karen Rollins 36b; Richard Mauldin 64; Susan Stanley 569b; Syble Adams 445; Nate Green and Norma Green 32t; Ed Thacker 546; Paul Stanley 282; Rodney Ivey 82t; Ann Gray 142; Nigel Bowley 38t; Ann Jett 498; B.M. Smith 72b; Anita Landess 168; Henry Johnson 570; Scott Ivey 317; David Brodeur 128; Kathy Williams 276; Jerry Kitchens 30t; Loyd Ivey 73t; Margaret Thacker 480.


B.M. Smith led 101t to bring the class together. Leaders: Robert Walker 143; Shelby Castillo 216; Judy Mincey 474; Daniel Bearden 83b; Karen Ivey 457; Mike Spencer 205; David Ivey 458; Joyce Whittington and Mary Ruth Stiefel 76b, 75; Sierra Saylors 481; Teresa Saylors 277; Bridgett Kennedy 155; David Saylors 203; Cindy Tanner 220; Michael Walker 298; Max Bruce 354b; Amy Smith and Loretta Smith 348b; Michael Thompson 288; Karen Rollins 399b.


The class was brought back to order by Cindy Tanner leading 123t. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 35; Susan Stanley 313b; Syble Adams 63; Nate Green and Norma Green 179; Ed Thacker 33b; Elizabeth Gentry 178; Paul Stanley 49t; Rodney Ivey 217; Ann Gray 523; Nigel Bowley 309; Ann Jett 269; B.M. Smith 318; Anita Landess 379; Henry Johnson 70b; Scott Ivey 98; David Brodeur 344.


The afternoon session began with Scott Ivey leading 56t. Leaders: Kathy Williams 506; Jerry Kitchens 112; Dennis George 326; Loyd Ivey 460; Margaret Thacker 426t; Jack Stiefel 28b; Shelby Castillo 215; Judy Mincey 180; Daniel Bearden 412; Karen Ivey and Joyce Walton 455; Mike Spencer 308; David Ivey 348t; Sierra Saylors 209; Bridgett Kennedy 383; Teresa Saylors 38b; David Saylors 349; Cindy Tanner 501; Susan Cherones 186.

Susan Cherones led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Ed Thacker, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Susan Cherones; Secretary—Cindy Tanner