Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine-Laminack Memorial

St. Michael Lutheran Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 27, 2014

The annual Alewine-Laminack Memorial singing was held on the fourth Sunday in April. Cecil Roberts welcomed everyone, and then brought the class to order leading 76b. Jack Nelson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 35; B.M. Smith 138t, 48t (for Evelyn Harris); Donna Bell 452 (in memory of Corine Laminack). Cecil Roberts introduced Laura Camper, a reporter and Bill Wilson, a photographer for The Anniston Star. Laura and Bill are composing an article for the newspaper about this singing. Cecil Roberts mentioned that the Cleburne County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was organized at St. Michael Church on September 28, 1889. The 125th session of the Convention will be held this year at Edwardsville Baptist Church in Edwardsville, Alabama, on the third Sunday in August.

A business session was held with the following officers retained or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 129; Judy Chambless 464, 501; Margaret Thacker 73b, 503; Henry Johnson 231, 398; Charlene Wallace 155, 171; Robby Rivers and Hugh McGraw 480, 146; Virginia Dyer 454 (for Stephen McElroy), 532; Ken McElroy 340, 29t (for his daddy, Stephen McElroy).


B.M. Smith brought the class back to order leading 64. Ed Thacker led 548 (for all the Laminack, Alewine, Edwards, Kerr, and McElroy families), 303 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Rene Greene 354b, 217 (in memory of her mother, Shelbie Sheppard); Robert Chambless 494, 317; Karen Rollins 297; Karen Rollins, Nathan Rees, and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 213b; Hayden Arp 386, 32b (for a friend who recently lost his mother in a car accident); Reba Windom 318, 195 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 280, 150; Edna Ruth Phillips 569b (for her sister), 490; Tony Hammock 47t (for Evelyn Harris), 138b; Fallon Cook and Chance Cook 192, 37b.

Cecil Roberts thanked the class for $407, and asked that the amount be noted in the minutes. The money will be used for the upkeep of the church and cemetery. Lutheran services have not been held at the church for approximately 75 to 80 years. Cecil Roberts and singers thanked the McElroy family for their faithfulness in maintaining the church and cemetery.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson. She referenced Psalms 100:1 from The Bible. It reads, “Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands.” Karen stated that science has proven that the effect of music on humans is very strong, and that we sing to make music in times of sorrow. The sick and shut-ins honored were Agnes Roberts, James Hughes, Lois Bowman, Stephen McElroy, George Garner, Lucy Garner, Eugene Forbes, Evelyn Harris, Hobert Ivey, Josephine Denney, Emmett Harrod, Floy Wilder, Audress Gurley, Betty Wright, Myrline Redmon, and James Jordan. The deceased remembered were Pauline Kilgore, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Mike Nunn, Teenie Moody, Carlene Griffin, and Sarah Kerr. Karen Rollins led 339. Robert Chambless closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 447, 444; Buell Cobb 266; Jack Nelson 540, 560. Ed Thacker offered the blessing of the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session of singing began with Cecil Roberts leading 277. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 276, 485; Winfred Kerr 45t, 89; Ann Simpson 452, 358; Donna Bell 546; Ken McElroy 274t; B.M. Smith 270; Nathan Rees 360; Tony Hammock 83b; Robert Chambless 84; Robby Rivers and Hugh McGraw 87; Oscar McGuire 229; Rene Greene 269 (by request); Ed Thacker 383; Henry Johnson 289; Jack Nelson 288; Edna Ruth Phillips 405; Winfred Kerr 282 (in memory of his dad, Joe Kerr); Hayden Arp 409; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 410b; Ann Simpson 127.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts, B.M. Smith, Donna Bell, and Judy Chambless led 46 as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell