Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Poplar Springs Church

North of Tallapoosa, Goergia, off Hwy. 100

May 25, 1997

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing at Poplar Springs Baptist Church was held the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called together by Mironel Swafford leading song on page 32 (t? b?). B. J. Harris led the morning prayer. Mironel Swafford then led song on page 348b. Florence Williams led songs on pages 569b and 490.

The class was organized for the day by electing the following officers: Chairman—Mironel Swafford; Vice Chairman—Florence Williams; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee and Memorial Committee—Margie Smith and Mary F. Smith.

Leaders: Mironel Swafford 137; Charlene Wallace 168, 299; Mary F. Williams 335, 313 (t? b?); B. J. Harris 72b, 225t; Mia Makris 354b, 401; Don Bowen 409, 410 (t? b?); Christine Cox 147 (t? b?), 68 (t? b?).


The class was called to order by Florence Williams leading song on page 45 (t? b?). Leaders: Johnny Wright 145 (t? b?), 124; Carlene Griffin 81 (t? b?), 122; Myron House 270, 113; Norma Latham 42, 317; Randy Garrett 274 (t? b?), 294; Evelyn Harris 155, 101 (t? b?); Louis Hughes, Sr. 515, 31 (t? b?).

The memorial lesson was held with Mary F. Smith leading song on page 348 (t? b?) in memory of: Ed Latham, Jimmy Causey, Hazel Cagle, Mrs. Bell Holcombe, Eugene Wood, Jewell Anderson, Annie Garner, Sudie Roberts, and Horace Lambert. The sick and shut-ins were remembered in the service, also. The memorial session was closed with prayer by Rev. Bud Dingler. The pastor of the church, Brother W. A. Ivie gave a brief talk, welcomed everyone, and blessed the food.


The afternoon session resumed with Mironel Swafford leading song on page 40. Leaders: Mia Makris 358; Harvey Austin 108 (t? b?), 566; Tokay Boggs 35, 111b; Lonnie Rogers 141, 186; B. M. Smith 127, 222; Hester Edwards and Triska Thompson 49b, 75, 49t; Felton Denney 523, 47b; Mildred Patterson 119, 146; Don Bowen 163b, 501; Rev. Bud Dingler and Charlene Wallace 143; Louis Hughes, Sr. 515 (by request), 489; Norma Latham 34b; Margie Smith 373, 503; Christine Cox 59.

After announcements, Mironel Swafford and Florence Williams led song on page 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lonnie Rogers.

Chairman—Mironel Swafford; Vice Chairman—Florence Williams; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.