Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford Singing

Powerhouse Community Arts Center, Oxford, Mississippi

Sunday, March 9, 2014

The 34th annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing was held at the Powerhouse Community Arts Center on the second Sunday in March. The class was called to order by Warren Steel leading 126. Mark Davis offered the morning prayer, and then led 171.

The class entered into a business session. The following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Davis; Secretary—Brenda Chafin; Assistant Secretary—Wanda Capps; Arranging Committee—Ann Jett and Drew McGuire.

Leaders: Arlon Gardner 67; Larry Ballinger 151; Mark Tew 99; Henry McGuire 472; Wanda Capps 298; Anne Steel 348b; Matt Bell 406; Becky Briggs 336; Steve Adams 331; Natalie Davis 155; Tim Taylor 569b; Logan Green 306; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Gravis Ballinger 314; Allison Davis 436; Sarah Beasley 340.


Warren Steel called the class to order leading 61. Leaders: Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 215; Dorothea Maynard 442; Cliff Hall 286; Juanita Shaw 63; Jan Murray 457; Bob Barber and Rob Barber 282; Regina Derstine 270; Lisa Davis 200; Amber Davis 192; Ken Tate 271t; Mary Amelia Taylor 505; Julie Heeren 417.


Mark Davis called the class together leading 106. Molly Barber led 277.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Henry McGuire. He led 146 for the sick and homebound. He then read the names of the following deceased in the past year: Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Bud Oliver, Josie Hyde, C.T. Williams, Hugh Bill McGuire, Emily Boswell, Charlie Gates, Jean Gray, W.M. Allen, and Diane Mennella. Reba Windom led 556 and Henry McGuire led 269 in memory of the deceased. John Van Horn offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Elene Stovall 142; Lisa Geist 540; Drew McGuire 430; John Wall 72b; John Plunkett 391.


Warren Steel called the afternoon session to order by leading 396. Leaders: Ben Barber and three students from Brazil 47b; Danny Creel 280; Earl Ballinger 283; Seth Holloway 235; Jack Barbera 45t; Jeff Corbett 565; Sarah Tidwell 42; Sunny Young and Eli Baker 318; Karol Barber 154; Chuck Howell 112; Mary Chrestman 129; John Van Horn 273; Brenda Chafin 77t, 542 (in memory of Hugh Bill McGuire); John Plunkett and Julie Heeren 50t; Becky Briggs, Sarah Beasley, Seth Holloway, Mel Maynard, and Dorothea Maynard 274t, 319; Tim Taylor and Mary Amelia Taylor 196; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 224; Larry Ballinger, Earl Ballinger, Gravis Ballinger, and Lisa Geist 528; Danny Creel, Ann Jett, and Wanda Capps 327; Henry McGuire, Drew McGuire, Will McGuire, Sarah Tidwell, and Thomas Burns 454; John Van Horn and Warren Steel 236.

Following announcements, Warren Steel, Anne Steel, Mark Davis, and Natalie Davis led 285t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Earl Ballinger.

Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Davis; Secretary—Brenda Chafin