Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

John Etheridge Singing
(Memorial to Winston Jones and Doss Bryan)

Valley Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Opp, Alabama

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Wayne Jones welcomed the class to the John Etheridge Singing in memorial to Winston Jones and Doss Bryan, and called the class to order leading 32t and 36b. Ken Sundberg offered the opening prayer.

Song selections are from the B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition. Ernest Cockcroft directed the introductory lesson leading 422b, 553, and 505. Leaders: Morgan Bunch 47t; Hubert Nall 440b; Nicole Bowman 463; Jerry DeLoach 112; Learvene Bass 108t; Billy Kelley 442t; Jenny Walker 49b; Claude Nall 515; Ken Sundberg 51; Susan Cherones 392; Edd Bass 309; Linda Westbrook 465.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Wayne Jones; Vice Chairman—Tim Jones; Secretary—Barbara Jones.


The class was called to order by Tim Jones leading 384. Leaders: Joe Nall 122; Jewell Rowland 540; Mitch Davis 485; Sue Bunch 54t; Tommie Spurlock 140; Chip Westbrook 573; James Gardner 74t; Michael Jones 282; Janice Gardner 587; Loretta Jones 380t; Ryan Bowman 511t.


The class was called to order by Wayne Jones, Avery Tillman, and Amberly Tillman leading 348t. Leaders: Victoria Aplin and Morgan Bunch 516; Mike Jones 435; Ken Kelley 163t; Mitch Davis, Jenny Walker, Joy Pearson, and Wynette Smith 500 (in honor of Wynette’s sister, Frances, and father, M. J. Allen); Larry Shaw 478; Lloyd Jones 45t; Mary Whitehurst 466; Kevin Dyess 65; Derrick Davis 72 (t? b?); Joy Pearson 558. The class sang 369, and Tommie Spurlock asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Wayne Jones brought the afternoon session to order leading 96. Leaders: Rhonda Harrison 145b; Sam Schofield 288; Chrissy Schofield 492; Cynthia Sasser 75; Barbara Jones 277; Bill Aplin 584.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Wayne Jones led 464 in memory of Eva Padgett and John Etheridge. Tim Jones led 47b and 553 in memory of his father, Winston Jones. Mike Jones led 385t and 341 in memory of Doss Bryan.

Leaders: Ernest Cockcroft 405; Morgan Bunch 552 (?); Hubert Nall 264t (?); Nicole Bowman (no page number recorded); Cathy Parker 507b; Jenny Walker 358; Tim Jones, Mitch Davis, Joy Pearson, and Jenny Walker 63; Susan Cherones 300; Kevin Dyess 235; Sue Bunch 148; Ryan Bowman 268t; Tommie Spurlock 38b.

Announcements were made. Wayne Jones and Tim Jones led 76b as the closing song, followed by a closing prayer offered by James Gardner, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Wayne Jones; Vice Chairman—Tim Jones; Secretary—Barbara Jones