Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day

Seacourt Hall, Botley, Oxford, United Kingdom

Saturday, June 22, 2013

The 15th annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June. Sheila Girling Macadam called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 34b. Dilwyn Scott offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Secretaries—Sofi Mogensen and Nick Hall; Arranging Officer—Mandy Townsend.

Leaders: Edwin Macadam 171; Rachel Jordan 47t; Steve Fletcher 40; Nick Hall 61; Sarah Hill 77t; James Percival 192; Jenneith Codrington 37b; Steve Welch 52t; Sofi Mogensen 31t; Toby Goss 468; Rebecca Over 395; Marjorie Brown 102; Richard Percival 313b; Mandy Townsend 203; Ed Long 48b; Jan Lawrence 28b; Joe Vickers 32t; Sheila Girling Macadam 564; Rachel Jordan 173; Edwin Macadam 444; Steve Fletcher 481; Nick Hall 455; Sarah Hill 401.


James Percival called the class back to order leading 312b. Leaders: Steve Welch 38t; Susannah Gill 89; Sofi Mogensen 332; Toby Goss 288; Jenneith Codrington 300; Richard Percival 515; Alison Brown 457; Rebecca Over 197; Ed Long 56b; Val Wallace and Joe Vickers 84; Jan Lawrence 141; Marjorie Brown 228; Mandy Townsend 318; Sheila Girling Macadam 553; Nick Hall 454; Sarah Hill 565; Joe Vickers 569b; Rachel Jordan 200; Steve Fletcher 448t; James Percival 198; Jenneith Codrington 474; Steve Welch 354t; Sofi Mogensen 276; Edwin Macadam 236; Richard Percival 473. Marjorie Brown offered the prayer before lunch.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Sheila Girling Macadam leading 362. Leaders: Guy Hayes and Sarah Hill 38b; Adrian Bolge 107; Susannah Gill 547; Alison Brown 504; Mandy Townsend 147t.

Steve Fletcher and Martin Williams conducted the memorial lesson, reflecting on the journey through this world and beyond. Richard Percival read the following names of the deceased: Gordon Divers—Bridgemere; John Stone—Lewes, Sussex; Evelyn Mayers—London; Matthew Oliver—Didcot; Derek Wood—Ruskington, Lincs; John Barry—Ringmer, Sussex; Nonie and Peter Murray—Scotland; William Durkin—Marlborough, Massachusetts. Steve Fletcher led 545 in their memory.

Mary Welch spoke for the sick and housebound, relating the story of young professional soccer player Fabrice Muamba, who had suffered a cardiac arrest during a football match in London, and of the prayers of thousands for his recovery. She read his favourite psalm, Psalm 121. Antonina Spittal read the names of the following sick and housebound: Hillary, Carol Beaton, Ted Alderson, Josie Hyde, Alice Wadsworth, Elsie Heritage, Abigail Williams, Gail Thornicroft, Andrea Fletcher, Kath Mountstephen, Dennis Lanfear, Anne Robinson, and Pat Corp. Steve Welch led 68b, and Sheila Girling Macadam closed the memorial with prayer.

The class resumed singing with Wendy Stone leading 82t. Leaders: Rebecca Over 285t; Marjorie Brown 497; Ed Long 428; Jan Lawrence 333; Joe Vickers 485; Edwin Macadam 550; Steve Fletcher 117; Rachel Jordan 155.


The final session commenced with Nick Hall leading 183 to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the world steam train record set by ‘Mallard’. Leaders: Sarah Hill 500; Steve Welch 350; Joe Vickers 344; Marjorie Brown 69t; Susannah Gill 472; Richard Percival 535; Jenneith Codrington 503; Wendy Stone 528; Jan Lawrence 479; Sofi Mogensen 440; Steve Fletcher 49b; Mandy Townsend 178; Rachel Jordan 146.

Announcements were made. Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam thanked all the officers, committees, and anyone else who helped in any way to make this singing possible. They led 347 as the closing song. Edwin Macadam offered the closing prayer, after which the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Secretaries—Sofi Mogensen and Nick Hall