Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Old Harmony Primitive Baptist Church

Abernathy, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 21, 2013

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Old Harmony Primitive Baptist Church near Abernathy, Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on the third Sunday in April. Cecil Roberts welcomed everyone, and then brought the class to order leading 48t. Tony Hammock offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 49b; Donna Bell 39t (in memory of Bud Oliver); Judy Chambless 37b, 565; B.M. Smith 66, 138t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Sherrell Cleino 135, 159; Jeff Sheppard 186, 291; Tony Hammock 464, 465 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Lou Cotney 384, 358; Charlene Wallace 274t (in memory of Bud Oliver), 339; Robert Chambless 34t, 70t; Earlis McGraw 201 (in memory of B.J. Harris), 163t.


Donna Bell led 340 (in honor of Stanly Edwards and Lawrence Edwards) to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 75, 171; Joann Ward 47b; Evelyn Harris, Ruth Daniel, Nellie Mae White, Aline Harris, and Calvin Warren 45t, 155. Evelyn Harris welcomed everyone and thanked them for coming. Leaders: Margie Smith 101t, 108t; Shannon Primm 65, 549; Rene Greene 142, 73t; Neal Prichard 566; 204; Ann Simpson 452.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Cecil Roberts. Oscar McGuire led 34b in honor of the sick and shut-ins and in memory of the deceased. The sick and shut-ins honored were Carlene Griffin, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, George Garner, Lucy Garner, Eugene Forbes, Sammie Oliver, Lois Bowman, Tommy Chupp, Eunice Webb, Teenie Moody, Mike Nunn, and Shelbie Sheppard. The deceased remembered were Bud Oliver, Leon Owen, Donald Edwards, and Gail Davis Self. Elder Neal Prichard, pastor of the church, closed the memorial lesson with prayer. The blessing of the noon meal was offered by Elder Neal Prichard at the table.


The singing reconvened with B.M. Smith leading 81t. Leaders: Shannon Primm 83t; Robert Chambless 503; Rene Greene 63; Tony Hammock 89; Donna Bell, Hannah Spruell, and Kira 31t; Margie Smith 225t; Sherrell Cleino 127 (for Otis Smith), 335; Oscar McGuire 229; Earlis McGraw 544 (for Rebecca Over); Jeff Sheppard 436; Charlene Wallace and Michael Duncan 297; Jason Wintermyer 206 (in memory of Estelle Warren), 61; Ruth Daniel 378t; Evelyn Harris 47t; Nellie Mae White 312t; Ann Simpson 388; Neal Prichard 139 (in memory Clarence Smith).

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts and B.M. Smith led 46 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell