Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elder Roy Avery Memorial Singing

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Daviston, Alabama

Sunday, February 10, 2013

The annual Elder Roy Avery Memorial Singing was held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Daviston, Alabama, on the second Sunday in February. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Jack Nelson leading 45t. William Futral offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Karen Clark 421, 70t; Wendy Futral 339, 369; Jenny Acton 229 (CB), 53; Jacob Acton 282, 117; Ted Price 535, 29t; Judy Chambless 472, 565.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jack Nelson; Vice Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Arranging Officer—Jordan Whitehead; Secretaries—Sharon Whitehead and Carla Smith.


Leaders: Jack Nelson 45t; Oscar McGuire 171, 229; Robert Chambless 560, 72b; Fred Hoerr 148, 31t.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Leaders: Sharon Whitehead 186 (in memory of Elder H.R. Avery); Ted Price 196 (in memory of Mrs. Annie Lee Price); Clyde Avery 560 (in memory of Elder and Mrs. H.R. Avery and family); Kenny Whitehead and Jack Nelson 10 (OSH) (in memory of Elder Steve Stathelson, Tim East, and James Stathelson); Ted Price 290 (in memory of Leonard Price and John Merritt). Prayer was offered by Brother Kenny Whitehead, and preaching service was conducted by Elder Ben Keeble.


Leaders: Jack Nelson 77t; Myra Goss 340, 269; Cecil Roberts 97, 37b; Edna Ruth Phillips 452, 318; Clyde Avery 460, 402; Virginia Futral 569b, 195; Virginia Dyer 63, 40; Charlotte Bishop 268, 335; Carla Smith 159, 358; Ben Keeble 410t, 39b; Jordan Whitehead 143, 480; Tirzah Johnson 36b; Isabelle Green 68t, 58; Sharon Whitehead 274t, 110; William Futral 341, 100; Jack Nelson 96.

Chairman—Jack Nelson; Vice Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Secretaries—Sharon Whitehead and Carla Smith