Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dallas County Singing

Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church, Dallas, Texas

Saturday, November 10, 2012

The Dallas County Annual Sacred Harp Singing was held at the Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Rick Foreman leading 31b. Danny Creel offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Kris Wiggins 176b; Cheryl Foreman 75; Sonny Erwin 441; Ben Brown 40; Esther Huckaby 224; Jerry Ryan 145t; LuAnn Thomas 128; Donn Howard 163b; Priscilla Wiggins 365; Ron Ryan 548; Cassie Allen 558; Diane Ross 455; Robert Vaughn 74b; Beverly Coates 228; Donald Ross 546; Kristie Powell 216; Cindy Tanner 436; Henry Johnson 539; Claudene Townson 39t; Mike Hinton 456.


Rick Foreman called the class back together by leading 49t. Leaders: Janie Short 480; Danny Creel 383; Ann Jett 269; Eddie Mash 234; Ainsley Allen 217; Nathan Rees 432; Gaylon Powell 434; Wanda Capps 222; Tom Owen 500; Tammy Powell 454; Ken Tate 220; Syble Adams 47b; Bill Bailey 108t; Brian Sears 384; Ben Copenhaver 181; Sara Hood 523; Scott Curran 460; John Plunkett 346; Michele Rogan 392; Bruce Coates 503; J.T. Harechmak 487; Sonny Erwin 358.

Tammy Powell and Bruce Coates conducted the memorial lesson. Bruce Coates read the following names of the deceased: Gertie DeLong, Harrison Creel, Charles Creel, Earnie Jett, Bill Tanner, Leland Owen, Susan Kerr, Winell Sanders, and Brandon Wood. He led 285t.

Tammy Powell read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Richard DeLong, Annie Drake, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Robert Rainoshek, Bobbie Rainoshek, Frank Price, Dorothy Price, Velton Chafin, Josie Hyde, Doris Hanks, and Sallie Foreman. She led 86. Mike Hinton closed the memorial lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Cindy Tanner 498; Rick Foreman, Donna McCay, and Ernie 178.

Gaylon Powell offered a prayer before the noon meal.


Robert Vaughn called the class to order by leading 71. Leaders: Kristie Powell 274t; Ben Brown 56b; Jerry Ryan 87; Avon Miller 304; Cassie Allen 426b; Donn Howard 34b; Ann Jett 88t; Mike Hinton 532; Claudene Townson 68b; Eddie Mash 280; Wanda Capps 142; Nathan Rees and William Rees 186; Janie Short 551; Danny Creel 472; Syble Adams 63; Ben Copenhaver 446; Michele Rogan 67; Ken Tate 135; Tom Owen and Brody Ross 146; John Plunkett 297; Brian Sears 45t.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Rick Foreman; Vice Chairman—Kris Wiggins.


Rick Foreman called the class to order by leading 46. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 438; Sara Hood 347; Scott Curran 318; Henry Johnson 521; Beverly Coates 531; Donald Ross and Finley Ross 401; Stephanie Turney 159; Ron Ryan 343; Tammy Powell 542; J.T. Harechmak 535; Avon Miller 444; Diane Ross 225t; Bruce Coates 569b; Bill Bailey 108b.

Rick Foreman, Cheryl Foreman, and Sonny Erwin led 549 as the closing song. Donald Ross dismissed the class with a prayer.

Chairman—Rick Foreman; Vice Chairman—Kris Wiggins; Secretary—Cheryl Foreman