Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine-Laminack Memorial Singing

St. Michael Lutheran Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 22, 2012

The annual Alewine-Laminack Memorial singing was held on the fourth Sunday in April. Cecil Roberts welcomed everyone, and then called the class to order leading 33b. Joyce Lambert offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 32t; Donna Bell 335 (in memory of Corene Laminack), 283; Pam Nunn 234, 183; Margaret Thacker 47t, 39b; Jack Nelson 236, 480; Robert Chambless 225t, 72b; Shelbie Sheppard 137 (in memory of her mother, Lessie Cates), 155; Paula Picton 82t, 87.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Margie Smith.


Cecil Roberts called the class back to order leading 97. Leaders: Judy Chambless 29t, 338; John Plunkett 374, 207; Mildred Patterson 339 (in memory of Elder Homer Benefield), 358 (in memory of Katherine Benefield); Joyce Lambert 141, 56t (in memory of her daddy, Elder Homer Benefield); Ed Thacker 48t (for Eunice Webb), 516 (for all the Laminack, Alewine, Edwards, Kerr, and McElroy families); Virginia Dyer 340, 193; Henry Johnson 205, 322; Judy Mincey 538, 367; Sarah Roberts 59, 127; Jeff Sheppard 129; 142; Charlene Wallace 143, 185; Ken McElroy 128 (in memory of uncle Leo Kilgore), 294 (for his granddaddy, Harold McElroy); Fallon Cook and Cain 37b, 146.

Cecil Roberts thanked the class for $436.00 and asked that the amount be noted in the minutes. The money will be used for the upkeep of the church and cemetery. Lutheran services have not been held at this church for approximately 70 (t? b?) to 80 years. Cecil Roberts and singers thanked the McElroy family for their faithfulness in maintaining the church and cemetery. John Plunkett blessed the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session of singing began with B.M. Smith leading 389 and 489. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 441, 276; Evelyn Harris 30 (t? b?), 47b; Buell Cobb 50t, 71; Margaret Thacker 49t, 176b; Jack Nelson 145b (for Virginia Futral), 500; Judy Chambless 527; James Hughes and Cecil Roberts 145t; Paula Picton 270, 327; Judy Mincey 475; Henry Johnson 467; Virginia Dyer 528, 274t; Ed Thacker 192; Robert Chambless 384; Fallon Cook 401; Oscar McGuire 229 (for Cecil Roberts).

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts led 46 as the closing song. James Hughes offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell