Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 1, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Edwardsville Baptist Church was called to order by Ed Thacker leading 39b. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer. Ed Thacker led 176t.

The following officers were retained to serve: Chairman—Stanly Edwards; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Pearl Guier; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 399b (in honor of Lois Bowman), 138b; Rene Greene 222; Margaret Thacker 49 (t? b?), 303; B.M. Smith 503, 350; Jackson Harcrow 56b, 49b; Virginia Dyer 354b, 127; Robert Chambless 163b (in memory of Julietta Haynes), 317; Margie Smith 225t, 405; Henry Johnson 144, 138t; Jeff Sheppard 146.


Blake Sisemore led 82t and 436 to bring the class back to order.

Leaders: Pearl Guier 32t, 59; Oscar McGuire 155, 441; Lou Cotney 300, 358; Fallon Cook 37b, 36b; Charlene Wallace 79, 313t; Marilyn Bradley and Oscar McGuire 58, 47b; Evelyn Harris 47t; Ruth Daniel 335, 378t; Judy Chambless 339 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers, Nick Griffin, and Julietta Haynes), 274t; Jackson Harcrow and Blake Sisemore 224; Jackson Harcrow 101t; Rene Greene 78, 107; Blake Sisemore 434, 411; Henry Johnson 375; Virginia Dyer 63, 137. Rev. Bobby Garner, pastor of the church, welcomed everyone and offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Jackson Harcrow leading 145t. Leaders: Fallon Cook 73t; Sherrill Clieno 100; Margaret Thacker 480; Margie Smith 108t; B.M. Smith 192; Lou Cotney 218; Cecil Roberts 229; Charlene Wallace 371; Robert Chambless 145b; Jeff Sheppard 162; Sherrill Clieno 452; Oscar McGuire 348b; Judy Chambless 334; Rene Greene and Jeff Sheppard 212; B.M. Smith and Margie Smith 448b; Blake Sisemore, Fallon Cook, and Jackson Harcrow 186; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 565; Oscar McGuire and Cecil Roberts 35; Henry Johnson and Virginia Dyer 205; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 143.

Ed Thacker led 521 as the closing song. Rev. Charles Wright offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Stanly Edwards; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Pearl Guier