Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

College Station, Texas

February 25-26, 2012

Saturday, February 25

The Texas State Convention was called to order by Sarah Huckaby leading 34b, followed by Janie Short leading 171. The opening prayer was offered by Jeb Owen.

Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 492; Rick Foreman 31b; Sonny Erwin 568; Catherine Rogan 120; Donald Ross 499; Tammy Powell 503; Baron Powers 268; Michele Rogan 67; Kevin Powell 455; Zach Rogan 299; Leon Ballinger 297; Linda Booker 494; Scott Curran 269; Beverly Coates 50b; Bill Bailey 313b; Vivian Rogan 176b; Ben Copenhaver 567; Kristie Powell 106; Bill Giesenschlag 59; Greg Bowles 39b; Sarah Huckaby 30b (for Billie Allen’s grandmother, Vertie Dickerson).

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sarah Huckaby; Vice Chairperson—Janie Short; Secretary/Treasurer—Cheryl Foreman; Memorial Committee—Donald Ross and Reed Coates.


The class was brought back together by Janie Short leading 29t. Leaders: Robert Vaughn “Rogan” (in honor of Zach Rogan’s recovery); Lindsey Wiggins 483; Kyle Hearn 186; Diane Ross 350; Ainsley Ross 145t; Riley Owen 32t; Silas Huckaby 388; Findley Ross 354b; Jackson Owen 401; Jane Goforth 143; Gary Rogan 406; Liz Owen 546; Gaylon Powell 383; Cassie Allen 316; Reed Coates 38t; Amanda Blevins 270; Ron Ryan 114; Alice Johnson 128; Billy Huckaby 208; Don Barker 452; Jeb Owen 475; Crystal Meadows 442. Donald Ross offered the noon prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Janie Short leading 135. Leaders: Owen Ross 327; Amanda Bowles 99; Bruce Coates 35; Chris Nicholson 72b; Olivia Powell 282 (for Colby Bridges); Sarah Huckaby 542; Sonny Erwin 490; Catherine Rogan 454; Janie Short 480; Donald Ross 481; Garrett Powell 300; Tammy Powell 142; Baron Powers 85; Michele Rogan 430; Scott Curran 472; Linda Booker 569b; Zach Rogan 47b.


The class was brought to order by Sarah Huckaby leading 76b. Leaders: Kevin Powell 77t; Leon Ballinger 280; Brody Ross 388; Jackson Owen 401; Silas Huckaby 421; Ainsley Ross 146; Riley Owen 58; Beverly Coates 77b; Bill Bailey 495; Jane Goforth 523; Robert Vaughn 112; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Bill Giesenschlag 45t; Kristie Powell, Sue Harju, and John Harju 274t; Kyle Hearn 192; Amanda Blevins 358; Chris Nicholson 479; Cassie Allen 72t; Ben Copenhaver 286; Liz Owen 328; Gaylon Powell 412; Amanda Bowles 344; Owen Ross 240; Crystal Meadows 384; Greg Bowles 535; Sarah Huckaby 318.

The closing prayer was offered by Owen Ross, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, February 26

The Sunday session of the Texas State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Sarah Huckaby leading 49t, followed by Janie Short leading 276. The morning prayer was offered by Greg Bowles.

Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 354t; Rick Foreman 28b; Sonny Erwin 113; Diane Ross 434; Reed Coates 547; Ron Ryan 342; Vivian Rogan 178; Bruce Coates 106; Gary Rogan 155; Jeb Owen 278t; Olivia Powell 532; Mike Hinton 456; Carter Cook 142; Garrett Powell 376; Billy Huckaby 198; Tammy Powell 217; Donald Ross 530; Vicky Cook 34b; Baron Powers 63; Michele Rogan 507; Kevin Powell 163b.


Janie Short brought the class together leading 335. Leaders: Riley Owen 75; Ainslie Allen 217; Silas Huckaby 421; Findley Ross 354b; Jackson Owen 53; Brody Ross 388; Ainsley Ross 146; Beverly Coates 228; Liz Owen 273; Scott Curran 500; Linda Booker 32t; Bill Bailey 451; Amanda Bowles 39t; Cassie Allen 464; Lindsey Wiggins 385 (t? b?); Ben Copenhaver 291.

A memorial lesson was held. Donald Ross read the names of the following sick and shut-ins: Anthony and Priscilla Blevins, Coy Ivey, Don Buswell, John Grant, Eugene Forbes, Tom and Glenda Robinson, Vertie Dickerson, Tom Owen, Leland Owen, Doris Hanks, and Curtis and Edith Owen. Reed Coates led 340.

Reed Coates read the names of the following deceased: Suzanne Kerr and Harold Blevins—Texas; Marie Ivey and Ernestine Pipkin—Alabama; John Merritt—Mississippi; and Lonnie Rogers—Georgia. Donald Ross led 347. Prayer was offered by Reed Coates.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 272; Jane Goforth 133; Kristie Powell and friend 270; Greg Bowles 38b; Amanda Blevins 148. Scott Curran offered the noon prayer.


Janie Short opened the afternoon session by leading 348b. Leaders: Sarah Huckaby 432; Ron Bernucho 128; Reed Coates 65; Ron Ryan 420; Vivian Rogan 84; Don Barker 82t; Gary Rogan 64; Bruce Coates 209; Olivia Powell 236; Sonny Erwin 441; Jeb Owen 491; Catherine Rogan 40; Riley Owen 274t; Garrett Powell 299; Carter Cook 312b; Mike Hinton 318; Billy Huckaby 448t; Amanda Blevins 36b; Jane Goforth 116; Baron Powers 81t; Tammy Powell and Sonny Erwin 454; Ben Copenhaver 210; Vicky Cook 282; Michele Rogan 444; Gaylon Powell 165; Beverly Coates 531; Amanda Bowles 294; Zach Rogan 203; Kristie Powell 564; Scott Curran 460; Lindsey Wiggins 182; Kevin Powell 200.

During the Sunday session, a business meeting was held. Vice Chairman Janie Short was promoted to Chairman, Gaylon Powell was elected Vice Chairman, and Cheryl Foreman was elected as Secretary/Treasurer. The Treasurer’s report was read and accepted.

Convention members voted to move the convention permanently from College Station to San Antonio, effective February, 2013. The new location of the Texas State Sacred Harp Convention will be Coker United Methodist Church, 231 E. North Loop Road, San Antonio, Texas.

The officers led 62 as the closing song. A closing prayer was offered, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sarah Huckaby; Vice Chairperson—Janie Short; Secretary—Cheryl Foreman