Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Marin Headlands, California

January 19, 1997

The ninth annual All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at 9:30 a.m. in the Rodeo Beach Conference Center in Marin Headlands, California. The convention was called to order by Laura Boyd Russell leading song on page 87. Jim Friedrich led the opening prayer.

Last year’s officers then led: Chris Thorman 59; Jerry Schreiber 182; Rick Russell 66.

Chairman Laura Boyd Russell led the convention into a business meeting, and the class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Chris Thorman; Vice-Chairman—Carla Smith; Secretary—Pat Boyd; Assistant Secretary—Don Ward; Treasurer—Richard Rands; Assistant Treasurers—Janet Brigham and Judy Mincey. Leaders: Dottie Horn and Winston Stephens 535; Jeanne Schaffer 371; Bob Brylawski 163t; Kris Mills 38b; Tom Ostwald 504; Paul Ralston 200; Marc Weyl 300; Carolyn Deacy 456; Jim Friedrich 84; Richard DeLong 224; Catherine Callahan 209; Ken Cofield 324.

The following committees were announced: Arranging Committee—Laura Boyd Russell and Janet Herman; Memorial Committee—Carla Smith, Alice Sharp, and Shelbie Sheppard; Chaplain—Jim Friedrich; Resolutions Committee—Mary Rose O’Leary, Barbara Saxton, and David Ivey; Locating Committee—Jerry Schreiber. Leaders: Cindy Willard Danner and Audra Holt 85.


The class resumed singing with Carla Smith leading song on page 34b. Leaders: Paul Booth 198; Anita Sanders 492; Gerry Hoffman “Baltimore” (handout); David Ivey 205; Susan Helf 479; John Ostwald 126; Judy Mincey 475; George Seiler 480; Iona Singleton 159; David Ralston 191; Leon Ballinger 299; Shannon McGuire 268; Jane Campbell 236.


The class resumed singing with Carla Smith leading song on page 312b. Leaders: Jean Seiler 277; David Swarens 536; Shelly Phillips “Ruth” (handout); Sandy Klein 391; Jim Brock 354b; Ron Cohen 245. The memorial service followed with Shelbie Sheppard and Carla Smith leading song on page 327 in memory of those who had died in the past year: California—Alice Grams, David Nadel, Gail Rich, Mario Savio, Murray Biederman, Patti Benner, and Raymond Biase; Alabama—Johnnie Sue Beasley, Tom Harper, and Delta Wooten; Colorado—Don Johnson; Washington D.C.—Jeffrey Slattery; Massachusetts—Paul Tsongas; Pennsylvania—Michael Brylawski, Jere Knight, Helene Brylawski, and Madeline Hillman; Rhode Island—Velma Moore; New Jersey—William Downin; Iowa—Dorothy Brenneman; Virginia—Ellen Read Hough; Ontario, Canada—David Mackenzie Parry.

Alice Sharp led song on 61 to remember those who are sick or shut-in or otherwise unable to attend the singing: California—Leon Wilson and Vicki Friedberg; Colorado—Lydia Carlson; Oregon—Betty Chamberlain; Washington—Myesha Andrews. The singing resumed, and leaders called were: Mary Rose O’Leary 542; Joan Schwartz 155; David Brandt 40; Chris Thorman 454; David Ivey 455; Karen Willard 142; George Seiler 347. Stephen O’Leary offered the lunch prayer.


Janet Herman brought the class back from lunch leading song on page 114. Leaders: Ted Mercer 328; Shelbie Sheppard 216; Karen Ivey 47t; Betty Herman 442; Richard DeLong 448t; Susan Turpin 387; Leon Ballinger 269; David Hough 384; Arnold Zwicky 497; Carla Smith 421; Hugh McGuire 428; Vykki Mende Gray 202; Joanne Hoover 47b; Judy Mincey 441; Rick Russell 217; Katharine Hough 271t; Chris Thorman 474; Karen Willard 176t; Barbara Saxton and Sue Lindner 192; John Schaffer 313b; Carolyn Deacy 464; Jerry Schreiber 304.


Carla Smith brought the class together leading song on 46. Leaders: Lucy O’Leary 448b; Stephen O’Leary 501; Janet Herman 77t; Jinx McGuire 58; Ruth Gorrin 195; Karen Stingle 254; Barry Phillips 168; Donald Klein 556b; Jane Hancock 106; Paul Kostka 122; Robert Katz 250; Lisa Ralston 196; Dan Curtis 178; Jean Reynolds 344; Richard Rands 186.


Carla Smith brought the class back from recess leading song on 36b. Leaders: Laura Boyd Russell 83t; David Ivey 83b; Karen Ivey 222; Ted Mercer 86; Shelbie Sheppard 183; Richard DeLong 385 (t? b?).

A business session was then held. Chris Thorman acknowledged visitors from other states. Represented were: Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Washington.

Treasurer Richard Rands reported that convention expenses had been covered.

Barabara Saxton of the Resolutions Committee thanked the following people:

  1. Chris Thorman and Carolyn Deacy for organizing the convention;
  2. Food Committee—Sue Lindner, Barbara Saxton, and Lisa Ralston, for organizing the dinner on the grounds;
  3. Registration Committee for organizing registration;
  4. Richard DeLong for leading the singing school on Saturday;
  5. Carolyn Deacy and Alice Sharp for organizing housing for out-of-town singers;
  6. many people, too numerous to list, who brought food for the potluck and helped in other ways.

Next year’s convention will be held in San Diego.

Chris Thorman led the closing song on 62. Jim Friedrich dismissed the class with a closing prayer.

Chairman—Chris Thorman; Vice Chairman—Carla Smith; Secretary—Pat Boyd.