Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Labor Day Singing

Shoal Creek Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Monday, September 5, 2011

The 91st session of the annual Labor Day Sacred Harp Singing was held at Shoal Creek Church in Talladega National Forest, Cleburne County, Alabama, on the first Monday in September. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by B.M. Smith leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 101t; Cecil Roberts 100, 37b; Judy Caudle 33b, 186; Judy Chambless 142, 82t; Darrell Swarens 36b, 341 (in memory of Bob Meek); Judy Mincey 50b, 475; Blake Sisemore 222, 528; Rebecca Eldridge 324, 36t; Eimear O’Donovan and Daire O’Sullivan 504, 300; Eugene Forbes 299, 384; Jeff Sheppard 155, 189; Rachel Rudi 176t, 306.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.


B.M. Smith led 81t to bring the class back to order. Joe Jones spoke on behalf of the Shoal Creek Preservation Society. He welcomed the singers and visitors, and told of the many events that take place at Shoal Creek Church. The Shoal Creek Preservation Society was formed in the late 1980s by the Jones family, who has, for many, many years, been involved with Sacred Harp Singing.

Leaders: Karen Rollins 97, 298 (for Lonnie Rogers); Leigh Cooper 29b, 472; Robert Chambless 225t, 84; Bea Carnathan 80b, 145t; Eric Tweedy 474, 442; Katherine Eldridge 512, 58; Tony Hammock 303 (for the Ivey family), 30b; Michele Cull 515, 168; Annaliza Cull 448t; Adrian Eldridge 61, 235 (in memory of Bob Meek); Matt Hinton 63, 99; John Kelso 406 (for Macy Crawford and family), 377; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 45t, 340. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Joe Jones.


The afternoon session began with Cecil Roberts leading 35. Leaders: James Eldridge 317, 120; Mark Godfrey 65, 203; Myrline Redmon 569b, 358; Virginia Eldridge 98, 328; Charlene Wallace 171, 187; Reba Windom 176b, 76b (for Cheyenne Ivey); Virginia Dyer 193, 195; Daniel Bearden 38b, 117; Margie Smith 405; Will Dover 196; Hayden Arp 206, 112; Ann Simpson 87, 354b; Eimear O’Donovan, Daire O’Sullivan, Blake Sisemore, and Rachel Rudi 507; the Eldridge family 124; Mark Godfrey, Leigh Cooper, John Kelso, and Hayden Arp 329 (for Jason Higginbotham); Matt Hinton, Erica Hinton, Anna Hinton, Eli Hinton, Michele Cull, and Annaliza Cull 40; Reba Windom, Karen Rollins, and Judy Mincey 421 (for Bud Oliver); Jeff Sheppard, Eric Tweedy, and Judy Caudle 200; Daniel Bearden, Darrell Swarens, and Tony Hammock 335; Eugene Forbes, Bea Carnathan, and Myrline Redmon 143.

Following announcements, B.M. Smith and Cecil Roberts led 46 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Caudle