Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Eva, Alabama

Saturday, July 23, 2011

The 123rd session of the Cotaco Convention was held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Morgan County, Alabama, on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Elder J.L. Hopper leading 63 and 88b. The morning prayer was offered by Velton Chafin.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: J.L. Hopper 295; Judy Caudle 101b, 85; Rodney Ivey 89 (for Travis Keeton), 32t; Steve Cobbs 460, 480; Nancy Thompson 65, 64; Craig Holmes 81t, 68b; Daniel Hopper 81b, 163t; Eugene Forbes 155, 168; Susan Cherones 40, 107; Loyd Ivey 208, 225t; Bea Carnathan 204, 80b.


Rodney Ivey led 166 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Delone Cobbs 31b, 354t; Scott Ivey 285t, 145t; Nicholas Mann and Cindy Mann 274t, 45t; Angela Myers 432, 47t; Anna Grace Sipe 159, 335; Jim Aaron 163b, 503; Brenda Chafin 203 (for Wanda Capps), 86; Christopher Mann 128, 178; Phil Summerlin 278t, 312b; Marlon Wootten 348b; Geraldine Sharpton 299, 300; Don Keeton and Ivalene Dutton 76b, 112; Lomax Ballinger 127, 129. Butch White offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with J.L. Hopper leading 76t. Leaders: Blake Sisemore 314, 492; Larry Ballinger 482 (for Travis Keeton), 119; Velton Chafin 222, 318; Eloise Wootten 186, 426b; David Ivey 391 (in memory of Billy Williams), 172; Carol Newman 220, 490 (in memory of Bunch Robinson); Richard Ivey 101t (for Zach Rogan), 371; Kenneth Fannin 441, 340; Kelsey Sunderland 421, 349; Butch White 344, 34b; Carol Fannin 145b, 72b; Carlie Westmoreland and Halle Lancaster 59, 31t; Teresa Westmoreland and Halle Lancaster 200, 189; Bea Carnathan, Jim Aaron, and Eugene Forbes 47b; Susan Cherones and Angela Myers 87; Loyd Ivey and Scott Ivey 283; Christopher Mann, Nicholas Mann, Cindy Mann, Delone Cobbs, and Anna Grace Sipe 106; Richard Ivey and Kelsey Sunderland 389; Blake Sisemore and David Ivey 556 (for Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Lomax Ballinger, Geraldine Sharpton, and Larry Ballinger 472; Brenda Chafin and Velton Chafin 111t; Phil Summerlin and Don Keeton 388; J.L. Hopper 81t (for Verna Holcomb), 276 (for Glenda Hopper).

Announcements were made. J.L. Hopper led 209 as the closing song. Elder Daniel Hopper offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Caudle