Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Richmond, Virginia

November 16-17, 1996

Saturday, November 16

The fifth annual James River Convention was held on November 16 at the Parish Hall, Christ Ascension Episcopal Church, and was called to order by Pat Temple leading song on page 85. The morning prayer was led by Craig Baughan. Gail Doss led song on page 59; Mary Wright 66; Blake Morris 101 (t? b?); Jamie Dalton 42; Myra Dalton 186. Chairman Pat Temple made announcements and opened nominations for officers. The following were elected: Chairman—Gail Doss; Vice Chairman—Blake Morris; Treasurer—Stephen McMaster; Secretary—Mary Wright. Leaders: Gail Doss 49 (t? b?); Blake Morris 67; Stephen McMaster 532; Mary Wright 145b; Marty DeNys 327; Sandra Polaski 146; Henry Bizzell 63; Becky Hart 270; Don Polaski 198; Nancy Lee Newell 178; Kathy Manning 213t; George Seiler 268; Paula McGray 428; Mary DeNys 390; Craig Baughan 229; Jean Seiler 200; Fred Beardsley 474; Janine Smith 153; Ida Mae Leatherman 161.


The class resumed singing with Sue Hanson leading song on page 479. Leaders: Lynda Hambourger 478; Homer Rudolph 38b; Doron Henkin 378 (t? b?); Claudia Egelhoff 556; Hal Kunkel 189; Joyce Wade 424; Kat Kinkade 504; Frank Evans 191; Myra Dalton 196; Marty DeNys 547; Pat Temple 535; Sandra Polaski 192. The meal blessing was given by Craig Baughan.


The afternoon session was brought together by Blake Morris leading song on page 89. After an announcement period, the class resumed singing. Leaders: Claudia Egelhoff 501; John delRe 32t; Sue Hanson 33b; Peter Pate 500; Lynda Hambourger 436; Janine Smith 384; Jamie Dalton 442; Nancy Lee Newell 163b; Becky Hart 142; Don Polaski 454; Homer Rudolph 354b; Kathy Manning 475; George Seiler 313b; Paula McGray 280; Mary DeNys 312b; Jean Seiler 372; Doron Henkin 421; Kelly Macklin 218; Hal Kunkel 456; Fred Beardsley 513; Joyce Wade 236; Henry Bizzell 127; Frank Evans 209.


Blake Morris brought the class to order leading song on page 378t. Leaders: Marty DeNys 232; Leyland delRe 275b; Bev Oneida 180; Stephen McMaster 28b; Sandra Polaski 217; Mary Wright 106; John Daniel delRe 276; Peter Pate 543; John delRe 27; Paula McGray for Jean Tutweiler 31b; Blake Morris for Ida Mae Leatherman 143. A round of applause was given for Jean and George Tutweiler’s hours in the kitchen. Pat Temple led song on page 168. Gail Doss expressed appreciation to Jean Fearnow and her husband for making the church facilities available for the convention and led song on page 56t. The closing prayer was given by Craig Baughan.

Sunday, November 17

On Sunday morning the convention was called to order at the Dorey Park Recreation Center by Gail Doss leading song on page 29t. The morning prayer was led by Craig Baughan. Leaders: Tom Tucker 183; Bev Oneida 291; John delRe 113; Ida Mae Leatherman 452; Hal Kunkel 447; Kelly Macklin 385b; Stephen McMaster 47t; Frank Evans 145 (t? b?); Kat Kinkaid 528; Pat Temple 85 (for Mr. Patterson of D. C.); Craig Baughan 569b; Steve Sabol 417; Doron Henkin 201b; Mary DeNys 448 (t? b?); Paula McGray 39t; Paula McGray for Helen Bledsoe of South Dakota 254.


Kathy Manning called the class together leading song on page 144. Leaders: George Seiler 84; Fred Beardsley 147t; Jean Seiler 299; Kacy Pate 171; Joyce Wade 155; Cathy Tucker 106; Peter Pate 487; Mary Wright 324. The memorial lesson was opened by Kathy Manning who led song on page 523 and spoke of the fragility of life and the courage and fortitude shown by the sick and shut-in: Kentucky—Edward Avecedo; Virginia—Kelsey Taylor; California—Rod Willard; Ohio—Jane O’Meary; Maryland—John Holmes, Sr. and John Holmes, Jr. Kelly Macklin led song on page 365 and used the example of St. Patrick in the lesson to remember those who died over the past year: California—Gail Rich; West Virginia—Bill Heneike; Alabama—Johnnie Sue Beasley; Pennsylvania—George Smith, Penny Smith, Florence Siple and Mary Horst; Virginia—Carolyn McMaster Morrell, LuVerne Boschen, Jr., Collin Campbell, and Jeffrey Slattery; Nova Scotia—Etta Webber; Colorado—Don Johnson; Florida—William Robert Martin. Craig Baughan concluded the memorial with a prayer. Leaders: Blake Morris 129; Tom Padwa 480. The meal blessing was given by Craig Baughan.


The afternoon session was brought together by Gail Doss leading song on page 147b. Leaders: Blake Morris for Ida Mae Leatherman 250; Hal Kunkel 304; Joanne DeVoe 306; Peter Pate 379; Cathy Tucker 122; Jean Seiler 455; Tom Tucker 313b; Bev Oneida 430; Blake Morris for Norma Morris 45t; Paula McGray 56b, verse 2. Announcements were made and the attendees from their respective states were recognized: North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Alabama, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Washington, D.C., South Dakota, and Virginia. Leaders: John delRe 118; Leyland delRe 433; Steve Sabol 245; Kelly Macklin 368; Tom Padwa 56b, verse 1 and 3; Kathy Manning 328; George Seiler 159; Stephen McMaster 373; Kat Kinkaid 411; Craig Baughan 347; Doron Henkin 260; Sandra Polaski 497; Paula McGray 352; Fred Beardsley 546; Blake Morris 501b; Kacy Pate 77t; Pat Temple 556; Don Polaski 344; Hal Kunkel 532; Peter Pate 217; Kathy Tucker 40. George Seiler presented resolutions of thanks to all those who served on the committees which made the convention a success: housing—Blake Morris; food—George and Jean Tutweiler; setup—Homer Rudolph; publicity—Barbara Alexander and Stephen McMaster; chaplain—Craig Baughan; memorial—Kelly Macklin and Kathy Manning; registration—Norma Morris; pitching—Blake Morris, Jamie Dalton, Paula McGray, and Jean Seiler. Thanks were given to Blake Morris for arranging the new music session. Gail Doss led song on page 62 for the closing song. The closing prayer was led by Craig Baughan.

Chairman—Gail Doss; Vice Chairman—Blake Morris; Secretary—Mary Wright.