Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alaska Sacred Harp Convention

United Methodist Church, Sitka, Alaska

October 22-23, 2010

Friday, October 22

The 3rd annual Alaska Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Kari Lundgren leading 49t. Matt Hinton of Atlanta, Georgia, conducted a singing school focusing on tune, time, and accent. Following a short recess, Matt spoke on the meaning and background behind Sacred Harp text.

Saturday, October 23

David Kreiss-Tomkins brought the class to order leading 171. Chaplin Bill Davis offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—David Kreiss-Tomkins; Treasurer—Denise Klingler; Secretary—Kari Lundgren.

Leaders: Kari Lundgren 64, 147t; David Kreiss-Tomkins 189, 376; Sara Beaber-Fujioka 178, 63; Steve Helwig 209, 114; Julia Smith 40; Erika Wilson 287, 217; Judy Gangle 81t, 107; Matt Hinton 112, 365; Iris Klingler 354b; Erik Schwab 168, 148.


Matt Hinton called the class back to order leading 34b. Leaders: Scott Willis 72b, 164; Erica Hinton 74b, 270; Denise Klingler 49b; Lynn Basham 313b, 528; Tom Crane 82t; Gaye Willis 49t, 312b; Sylvia Friske 39t; Nicholas Lazipone 282; Kari Lundgren and Tracy Turner 152, 335; Julia Smith 159; Erica Hinton 354t, 540.

Erika Wilson and Steve Helwig conducted the memorial lesson. Erika Wilson spoke and led the class in 36b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Kathryn Hopp, Larry Beaber, and Lonnie Rogers.

Steve Helwig spoke and led the class in 163b in memory of the following deceased: Dan Delong—Alaska; Howard Mills—Washington; Richard Bentzinger—Iowa; Mary Evelyn King—Georgia; Jerry Enright—Illinois; George Seiler—New York.

Leaders: Matt Hinton 162, 192; Judy Gangle 85, 59; Iris Klingler 84; Scott Willis 276. Bill Davis offered the blessing for the noon meal.


David Kreiss-Tomkins called the class back to order by leading 155. Leaders: Steve Helwig 523, 481; Sylvia Friske 345t; Denise Klingler 45t; Kari Lundgren 186, 31t; Tom Crane 341; Gaye Willis 31b; Erik Schwab 564, 225t; Julie Smith 502; Lynn Basham 173, 122; Erika Wilson 42, 66; Sara Beaber-Fujioka 55 (CB), 511t (CB); David Kreiss-Tomkins 236.


Kari Lundgren called the class back to order by leading 445. Leaders: Kari Lundgren 344; Erica Hinton 108t, 37b; Denise Klingler 80t; Matt Hinton 99, 203; Sylvia Friske 391; Tom Crane 479; Erik Schwab 228, 274t; Julia Smith 27; Sara Beaber-Fujioka 501; Erika Wilson 142, 28b; Lynn Basham 455; Steve Helwig 480, 273; Matt Hinton 472.

A brief business session was held. David Kreiss-Tomkins and Kari Lundgren led 347 as the closing song. Bill Davis offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—David Kreiss-Tomkins; Secretary—Kari Lundgren