Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Liberty Hill Church, Barnesville, Georgia

Sunday, October 3, 2010

The 91st session of the South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by President Oscar McGuire leading 59. Prayer was offered by Wayne Watson.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 34b; Bentley McGuire 36b, 91; Mary Brownlee 200, 163t; Wayne Watson 480, 112; David Grant 176 (t? b?), 467b. Raymond Hamrick and Rosemund Watson were appointed as the Nominating Committee.

Leaders: Lauren Harrison 178, 138b; Erica Hinton and Anna Hinton 37b, 77t; Annaliza Cull 448b, 87; Molly Ellis and Mary Catherine Slavic 349, 148.


Oscar McGuire called the class together leading 147t. Leaders: John Kelso 77b, 42; Martha Harrell, Laura McKinley, and Taylor McKinley 503, 203; Helen Bryson 208, 312t; Carol Hanson 222, 49b; Billy Hollingsworth 500, 287; Russ Hanson 61, 299.

A motion was made, seconded, and carried that the class go into a business session, and the following officers were confirmed for the coming year of 2011: President—Wesley Haley; Vice President—Billy Hollingsworth; Secretary/Treasurer—Bentley McGuire; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Mary Brownlee; Chaplain—Wayne Watson; Assistant Chaplain—David Grant. The list of singings scheduled for the coming year was revised and confirmed. An annual singing from the Georgian Harmony on the Saturday before the first fifth Sunday of the year was proposed and confirmed. The business session was concluded with the Treasurer’s Report.


Oscar McGuire brought the class together leading 229. Leaders: Michelle Cull 515, 384; John Hollingsworth 186, 182; Judy Chambless 501, 549.

A memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson leading 129 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Violet Thomason, Lonnie Rogers, Glenna Randall, Kate Watson, and Aaron Wooten.

Helen spoke of the following deceased and led 365 in their memory: Jerry Enright—Illinois; George Seiler—New York. David Grant offered prayer.

Leaders: Charlene Wallace 101t, 276; Matt Hinton 99, 365; Sandra Wilkinson 475, 405; Rosemund Watson 66, 94; Tim Haley 117, 282; Carol Hanson 285t; Christy Willis 318, 277; Catherine Grisso and Mary Catherine Slavic 95, 39t; Beth Stewart 108b, 268.

Announcements were made. Rosemund Watson led 347 as the closing song. Wayne Watson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Mary Brownlee