Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, September 26, 2010

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in September was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Elder J.L. Hopper leading 52t and 61. The morning prayer was offered by Milford Cobbs.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Milford Cobbs; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 65 (for Arvid Holmes), 159; Milford Cobbs 75, 127; Christopher Mann 77t, 32t; Garrett Sipe 63, 274t; Anna Grace Sipe 268; Cindy Mann 128, 147t; Robert Walker 147b, 145b; Carol Newman 137, 68b.


The class was brought back to order by Milford Cobbs leading 405. Leaders: Darrell Swarens 72b, 335; Sonya Sipe 30b, 150; Lance Phillips 340, 81t; Daniel Lee 82t, 569b; Andrew Farris 66, 186; Angela Myers 282, 276. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Milford Cobbs.


The afternoon session began with Milford Cobbs leading 285t (in memory of Herbert Cobbs).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Caudle. She read the following names of the deceased and led 499 in their memory: Richard Shaddix, Gayland Thompson, Lindon Thompson, Eugene Swarens, Billy Williams, and Lucille Thomas.

Judy read the following names of the sick and shut-ins and led 134 in their honor: Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Bob Meek, Harrison Creel, Rhoda Norris, Ramona Light, and Sandra Light. She led 459 (by request) in memory of Aunt Bera Bradford. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: Delone Cobbs 480, 42; Joan Aldridge 275b; David Light 318, 112; Gerald Holmes 49t, 28t; Nancy Thompson 64, 56b; Odom Hawkins 313t, 288; Jim Aaron 503, 163b; Craig Holmes 111t, 323b; Dan Hopper 140, 451 (in memory of Billy Williams); Jennifer Clay, Nicholas Mann, and Delone Cobbs 106; J.L. Hopper 192 (by request).

J.L. Hopper led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by David Light, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Milford Cobbs; Secretary—Judy Caudle