Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Antioch Primitive Baptist Church, Scott County, Mississippi

August 21-22, 2010

Saturday, August 21

The 82nd session of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention began with President Mark Davis calling the meeting to order and leading 37b. Everyone was welcomed. Arlon Gardner offered the opening prayer. Mark Davis led 106. President Davis appointed Nancy Van Den Akker and Bobby Caldwell to the arranging committee.

Leaders: John Van Horn 332; Darlene Reynolds and Patricia Ingram 484b (CB); Darlene Reynolds 490; Arlon Gardner, Peth Gardner, Samantha Gardner, and Lynn Dennis 277, 67.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Jean Gray; Assistant Secretary—Darlene Reynolds; Chaplains—Arlon Gardner and W.M. Allen.

Leaders: John Merritt 54 (CH), 429; Billy Hollingsworth 326 (CH), 230 (CH); Hugh Bill McGuire 430, 200; Hugh McGuire 203, 215; Robert Vaughn 142, 224; Wanda Gregg 460, 28b. President Davis appointed Hugh McGuire and Henry McGuire to the Business and Credentials Committee.


The class was brought back together by John Van Horn leading 30t. Leaders: Gary Smith 281b (CH), 255 (CH); Dennis Cranford 155, 128; Sarah Smith 85b (CH), 59b (CH); Andrew Farris 347, 66; Nancy Van Den Akker 384, 515; Seth Holloway 109 (CH), 117 (CH); Susan Dickey 178, 59. President Davis appointed John Hollingsworth and Wanda Gregg to the Memorial Committee. Hugh Bill McGuire and Arlon Gardner were appointed to the Location Committee. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by John Hollingsworth.


The afternoon session was called to order by Mark Davis leading 328. Leaders: Regina Derstine 495, 349; Warren Steel 442, 422t (CB); Emily Mayes Massey 354b, 145b; Henry McGuire 504, 543; Ann Steel 480, 378b; Bobby Caldwell 216t (CH), 55b (CH); Linda Funderburk 393t (CB), 505 (CB); Robert Vaughn 468 (CB), 521 (CB); Mark Davis 519 (WB) (for Alfred Bailey), 236.


Mark Davis led 411 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 434, 182; Lynn Dennis 358, 75; Kurt Braun 143 (CH); John Merritt and Nanette Olivier 392 (CB); John Merritt and Robert Vaughn 522 (CB); Ann Steel and Warren Steel 285t.

Announcements were made. Mark Davis led 313b as the closing song. The Drone was sung, and prayer was offered by Arlon Gardner.

Sunday, August 22

President Mark Davis opened the Sunday session of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention by leading 57. He welcomed everyone. Arlon Gardner called on John Van Horn to offer the opening prayer. President Davis appointed Seth Holloway and Gary Smith to the Resolutions Committee.

Leaders: Mark Davis 65; John Van Horn 448t, 410t; Darlene Reynolds 569b; Darlene Reynolds and John Van Horn 142 (CH); Arlon Gardner 138 (CH), 163t; Hugh Bill McGuire 40, 73t; John Hollingsworth 72b, 354t; Billy Hollingsworth 265 (CH), 266 (CH); Natalie Davis 79, 101t; Sarah Smith 238 (CH), 239t (CH).


The class was brought back to order by Mark Davis leading 150. Leaders: Gary Smith 129 (CH), 46t (CH); Seth Holloway 380 (CH), 369b (CH); George Easley 34b, 60 (WB); Hugh McGuire 511 (WB), 82t. Arlon Gardner called on Billy Hollingsworth to offer prayer.


The afternoon session was opened by President Davis leading 273. Leaders: Henry McGuire 532, 492 (WB); Lynn Dennis 460, 546; Emily Mayes Massey 184 (CH), 86t (CH); Regina Derstine 264 (CH), 250 (CH), 131 (CH); John Van Horn 282; Billy Hollingsworth 487t (WB); John Hollingsworth 415; Gary Smith 336t (CB); Sarah Smith 77 (CH); Seth Holloway 388.

The memorial lesson was conducted by John Hollingsworth and Wanda Gregg. John Hollingsworth read the names of the following deceased: Billy Williams, Corene White—Alabama; George Seiler—New York; Marsha Hedrick, Lavelle Scarborough—Mississippi; Giles Carter—South Carolina. John led 95b (CB). Arlon Gardner closed the memorial service with prayer.

The Business and Credentials Committee (Hugh McGuire and Henry McGuire) gave the financial report. Motion and second for donation of money as follows: $250.00 Sacred Harp Musical Heritage Association for Camp Fasola Scholarship; $40.00 to WCPC Sacred Harp Hour Radio Program; $300.00 to Antioch Primitive Baptist Church.

The Resolutions Committee (Gary Smith and Seth Holloway) gave the resolutions. The eighty-second meeting of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention met and resolve the following: We thank God for the ability and willingness to come together to sing; we thank Antioch Primitive Baptist Church for extending their hospitality, and for the use of this wonderful building; thanks to people who came from near and far to sing together; we thank all who helped provide a bountiful lunch both days. We resolve to carry the words from “Blest Be the Tie That Binds” with us until we meet again next year to join our hearts and voices. Motion and second to accept all committee reports and dispense the committees.


The class was brought back together by Mark Davis leading 176t. Leaders: Peth Gardner and Arlon Gardner 376; Hugh McGuire 491 (WB); Billy Hollingsworth 50 (CH); Emily Mayes Massey 51 (CH); Hugh Bill McGuire 494 (WB), 138t (WB); Natalie Davis 64 (CH).

Announcements were made. The Drone was the closing song. Arlon Gardner offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Jean Gray