Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford Singing

University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi

Sunday, March 14, 2010

The 30th annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing was held in the choral room of the music building at the University of Mississippi campus, Oxford, Mississippi, on the second Sunday in March. The class was called to order by Warren Steel leading 48t. He welcomed everyone, and led 171. The morning prayer was offered by Gaston White.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Davis; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Carolyn Thompson and Xaris Martinez.

Leaders: Mark Davis 273; Judy Caudle 540; Xaris Martinez 546; Bea Carnathan 472; Marlin Beasley 129; Gaston White, Denise Richardson, and Joy Richardson 66; Hugh Bill McGuire 528; Cassie Allen 377; Ed Walton and Mark Davis 277; John Wall 135; Diane Menella 564; Velton Chafin 130; Lela Crowder 288; Brenda Merritt 39t; Cindy Tanner 269; Bill Beverly 547; Chuck Howell 112; Henry Schuman 532; Danny Creel 196; Sarah Smith 146; Kevin Dyess 155.


The class was brought back together by Carolyn Thompson leading 448t. Leaders: Seth Poston 275b; Natalie Davis 79; Kurt Davis 101t; Ainslie Allen and Emma Calvert 319; Rob Barber, Ben Barber, Carol Barber, Bob Barber, Tom Harrison, and Warren Steel 282; Sarah Tidwell 72b; Gary Smith 99; Angela Myers 276; Jan Murray 275t; Tim Taylor 503; Julianna Jett 410t; Jeff Corbett 28t; Wanda Capps 216; John Van Horn 378b; Mary Amelia Taylor 370; Chris Ballinger 270; Lisa Davis 200; Sister Susan Karina Dickey 178; Elene Stovall 392; Bunk Beasley 81t. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by John Van Horn.


The afternoon session was called to order by Warren Steel leading 295. Leaders: Martha Beverly 504; Robert Kelly 348t; Ken Tate 208 (for Jackie Tanner); Jamie Corbett 354b; Larry Ballinger 389; Harrison Creel 342; Arlon Gardner and Peth Gardner 67; Josie Hyde 442; Travis Keeton 482; Gravis Ballinger 120.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Warren Steel and Josie Hyde. Warren Steel spoke and led 376 for the following deceased: L.H. Gilmore, Corene White, Uel Freeman, Thurman Nall, and Charlotte McCarn—Alabama; Ray Tate—Arkansas.

Josie Hyde spoke and led 43 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Ceyenna Davidson (Jan Murray’s mother), Julie Vea, Ross Brand’s grandfather, Earnie Jett, and Bill Tanner. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Lawrence C. Howell.

Leaders: Henry Guthery 549; Carol Keith and Diane Menella 73b; Juanita Beasley 61; Seth Holloway 170; Yancy Jett 64; Kenny Bradford and Brenda Merritt 47b; Xaris Martinez and Olga Martinez 475; Carolyn Thompson 550; Martha Beverly 215; Robert Kelly 353; Bea Carnathan 205; Bill Beverly 297; Lela Crowder 332; Jeff Corbett 565; Ken Tate 236 (by request); Warren Steel and Cliff Hall 268.

Warren Steel, Mark Davis, and Judy Caudle led 235 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Mark Davis, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Warren Steel; Vice Chairman—Mark Davis; Secretary—Judy Caudle