Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mountain Heritage Day

Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, North Carolina

Saturday, September 26, 2009

Due to inclement weather, the Mountain Heritage Day singing was held in the multi-purpose room of the Hines University Center. Mike Nichols and Dr. James Dooley welcomed the singers to the Sacred Harp session.

The 35th Mountain Heritage Day singing was called to order by Hugh McGraw leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by James Dooley.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Mike Nichols; Arranging Committees—-Sacred Harp: Hugh McGraw; Christian Harmony: Dan Huger; Secretary—Mary Baumeister.

Leaders: Hugh McGraw 73b; James Dooley 127, 155; Carl Blozan 159, 452; Rachel Rudi 448b, 129; Dan Huger 36b, 66; Judy Mincey 40, 178; Chris Berg 117, 68b; Mary Baumeister 106, 569b; Will Peebles 49b, 58. James Dooley announced that Mike Nichols had received the Mountain Heritage Eva Adcock Award for 2009. Leaders: Chris Wilhelm 373, 500; Ed Smith 222, 47t; Sara Lynch-Thomason 142, 209; Steve Walker 312b, 107; Barbara Denson 101t, 164; Mike Nichols 114; James Dooley 47b, 137; Rachel Rudi 282, 183; Carl Blozan 81t; Hugh McGraw 146; Mike Nichols 128. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Ed Smith.


Mike Nichols welcomed the singers to the Christian Harmony session. Dr. Dooley gave a brief history of the singing tradition. Leaders: Dan Huger 41t (CH), 67b (CH); Mary Baumeister 245t (CH), 170t (CH); James Dooley 255t (CH), 225b (CH); Hugh McGraw 214 (CH); Steve Walker 254 (CH), 141 (CH); Judy Mincey 116 (CH), 50 (CH); Rachel Rudi 52 (CH), 336 (CH); Ed Smith 117 (CH), 136 (CH); Nick Gattis 339 (CH), 359 (CH); Mike Nichols 51 (CH), 367 (CH); Becky Walker 81t (CH), 291b (CH); Chris Wilhelm 281b (CH); Chris Berg 293 (CH), 194t (CH); Will Peebles 103b (CH), 381-D (CH); Carl Blozan 381-A (CH), 135 (CH); Robert Varkony 87t (CH); 189b (CH); Dan Huger 200b (CH).

The closing prayer was offered by Mike Nichols.

Chairman—Mike Nichols; Secretary—Mary Baumeister