Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lee Rogers Memorial Singing

Home of John and Elsie Hollingsworth, Ila, Georgia

Saturday, September 19, 2009

The 1st annual session of the Lee Rogers Memorial Singing was called to order by Robert Kelley leading 23t from the Christian Harmony, Parris-Deason Edition. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer. Robert Kelley welcomed the singers, and appointed John Hollingsworth and Judy Mincey to the Memorial Committee, and Jane Spencer to the Arranging Committee.

Leaders: Michael Spencer 163t; Shannon Primm 27t; John Hollingsworth 51; Mildred Chandler 131 (t? b?); Billy Hollingsworth 56t; Sue Bunch 142; Eddie Mash 54; Lela Crowder 44b; Dan Huger 55b (in memory of J. B. Parker); Tony Hammock 143 (in memory of his grandmother); Winston Stephens 171; John Plunkett 205; Karen Clark 189; Gaylon Powell 336t; Alexander Garden “Holy Hill”; Morgan Bunch 64; Jackie Elsner 117.

In a business session, the following officers were elected: Chairman—Robert Kelley; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretary—Shannon Primm.


Michael Spencer led 361 to call the class back to order. Leaders: Mary Baumeister 130t (for Ben Wiley); Don Clark 253 (?) (in memory of Lee Rogers and Bertha Deason); Nathan Rees 227; Darlene Reynolds 291; Andy Morse 372.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. John Hollingsworth shared some personal comments about Lee Rogers, and Judy Mincey led 85b in memory of the following deceased: Lee Rogers, John Etheridge, Paul King, Jimmy Denney, Frank Hataway, Ophelia Matthews, Dick Steil, Dutch Owen, Elder Gerald Hand, Adele Reed, and folksinger Mary Travers. The sick and shut-ins included Rodney Willard, Henry Vickers, Marsha Hedrick, Benny Walls, and Wanda Talley.


Robert Kelley called the class back to order leading 42. Leaders: Rachel Rudi 145b; Jane Spencer 172; Chris Wilhelm 305 (?); Mike Spencer 163b; Shannon Primm 276; John Hollingsworth 369; Mildred Chandler 89; Billy Hollingsworth “Macedonia”; Sue Bunch 221t (?); Eddie Mash 364 (?); Lela Crowder 128t; Dan Huger 303; Tony Hammock 187 (for Wanda Talley); Winston Stephens 67b; John Plunkett 263.


Robert Kelley led 123 (t? b?) to reconvene the class. Leaders: Karen Clark 214; Gaylon Powell 230t; Alexander Garden 73b; Morgan Bunch 43; Don Clark 121t; Mary Baumeister 66b; Nathan Rees 316; Rachel Rudi 88 (t? b?); Andy Morse 41b; Jackie Elsner 87; Jane Spencer 74 (t? b?) (for Jonathon Smith); Judy Mincey 280t.

After announcements, in a brief business session, the class decided to sing from the new Christian Harmony edition next year, if available; if not, the Deason-Parris edition will be used.

Robert Kelley led 222b as the closing song. John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed to the front porch for homemade ice cream.

Chairman—Robert Kelley; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretary—Shannon Primm