Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 18, 2009

The 95th session of the Walker County Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading 33t and 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Glenn Keeton.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 30t; Elsie Moon 177, 456; Travis Keeton 300, 480; Tyler Newman 340, 100; Lena Keeton 89, 88t; Anne Chalker 146, 388; Margaret Keeton 171, 172; Willodean Barton 454; John Merritt 560, 271t; Charles Kitchens 108t, 343.


The class was brought back to order by Glenn Keeton leading 59. Leaders: Glenn Keeton, Matthew Keeton, E.T. Swafford, and Gaynell Swafford 45t; Richard Mauldin 446; Aubrey Barfield 168, 163t; Oleta Stewart 405; Ernestine Pipkin 277, 203; Stanley Smith 349 (for Clarence McCool), 136; Leona Haynes 143 (for Charlotte McCarn), 222; Tommy Spurlock 426b, 430; Ricky Harcrow 74b, 401.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Richard Mauldin and Margaret Keeton. Margaret Keeton led 68b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Clarence McCool, Josie Hyde, Bill Stewart, Charlotte McCarn, and Estell Gilmore.

Richard Mauldin spoke and led 285t and 339 in memory of the following deceased: Bill Reynolds, Gertrude Hannah, Everett Aaron, Ruth Aaron, L.H. Gilmore, John Etheridge, Paul King, Mattie Townsel, and Frank Hataway. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Marlin Beasley.


The afternoon session was called to order by Velton Chafin leading 144. Leaders: Dustin Risedale 131t; Max Berueffy 386; Bridgett Hill 186; Stella Pratt 75; Donald Robertson 347; Juanita Beasley 61; Ken Tate 498, 530; Amber Davis 329, 192; Nate Green and Norma Green 179, 145b; Marlin Beasley 460 (for Cecil Sanders); Ricky Harcrow 294; Brenda Merritt 336; Danny Creel 472, 196; Harrison Creel 512, 111b; Wanda Capps 142, 216; Glenn Keeton 507 (for Josie Hyde).

Velton Chafin and Glenn Keeton led 521 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Glenn Keeton, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt