Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, near Heflin, Alabama

Sunday, May 17, 2009

The Cane Creek Decoration Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Glenda Collins leading 46 and 101t. Stanley Edwards led 59 and 60. The opening prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Arranging Committee—Donna Bell; Memorial Committee—Pearl Guier.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 123t, 225t; Stanley Edwards 223; Lou Cotney 172, 300; Curtis Hamrick 436, 100; Louise Holland 40, 36b; George Garner 112; Mary Jo Shafer 229, 503; Tony Hammock 321, 204; Margie Smith 317, 489; Cecil Roberts 569b, 97; Olivia Iverson 137, 274t.


The class was called back to order by B.M. Smith leading 176b. Leaders: Neal Prichard 134, 566; Pearl Guier 303, 32t; Sylvia Holland 47b, 45t; Lewis Norton 196, 387; Shelbie Sheppard 332, 448b; Ann Simpson 452, 445; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Marilyn Bradley 75, 34t.

Pearl Guier conducted the memorial lesson. She read two poems and Jeff Sheppard led 89 in memory of the following deceased: Jesse Cotney, Barbara Hamby, and Cordele Robinson—Alabama; Myrtle Smith—Georgia; Elder Gerald Hand—New Mexico.

B.M. Smith led 145t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Mary Florence Smith, Lonnie Rogers, and John Plunkett. Charles Norton gave a report on the cemetery.


The afternoon session was called to order by Lewis Norton and Cecil Roberts leading 338. Leaders: Pam Nunn 86, 63; Ruth Daniel 335, 378t; Jeff Sheppard 325, 318; Louise Owen and Amber Owen 143, 282; Lois Owen 373, 460; Curtis Hamrick 358; Nellie Mae White 312b, 58; Cecil Roberts 277; Mary Jo Shafer 117; Celia Sanders 354b; Donna Bell 480, 142; Jeff Sheppard 45t (for Eunice Webb and Celia Sanders), 192 (for Howard McGuire).

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith led 81t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Hester Edwards