Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W. A. Parker, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers,
and Elsie Beasley Memorial

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Sunday, October 26, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing held in memory of W.A. Parker, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers, and Elsie Beasley was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Marlin Beasley leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Harrison Creel.

The class organized by retaining the following officers: Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nora Parker; Arranging Committee—Sarah Smith.

Leaders: Marlin Beasley 36b; Richard Mauldin 175, 144; Travis Keeton 75, 145b; Willodean Barton 145t; Sarah Smith and Danica Thornton 401, 168; Glenn Keeton 535, 549; Margaret Keeton 147b; Earnestine Parker and Margaret Keeton 335; Josie Hyde 43, 477.


The class was brought back together by Marlin Beasley leading 274t. Leaders: Gary Smith 503, 565; Anne Chalker 63, 235; Larry Ballinger 138t, 164; Juanita Beasley 46, 39 (t? b?); Lisa Geist 306, 428; Faye Donaldson 78, 40; Ken Tate 56t, 220.

Richard Mauldin and Lisa Geist conducted the memorial lesson. Richard Mauldin led 560 in memory of the following deceased: Cecil Wakefield, Heath Jett, Flarce Creel, Mary Ballinger, Marie Guthrie, Herby Bailey, Wilton Donaldson, B.J. Harris, LaRue Allen, Felton Denney, Edith Tate, Jeanette Lowry, Furn Kitchens, M.B. Forbes, Delores Beasley, and Elder W.G. McGough.

Lisa Geist led 472 for the following sick and shut-ins: Ken Jenkins, Clarence McCool, Arlene Kitchens, Mary L. Smith, Dan Keeton, John Etheridge, Eugene Forbes, Charlotte McCarn, Ray Tate, Cecil Sanders, Edna Hinkle, and Brenda Merritt. Marlin Beasley closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Marlin Beasley led 30t.


The afternoon session was called to order by Richard Mauldin leading 540 and 312b. Leaders: Harrison Creel 111b, 512; Velton Chafin 222 (in memory of Morrow Tidwell); Nora Parker, Ginny Williams, Martha Heyman, Darrell Parker, and Earnestine Parker 276, 299 (in memory of W.A. Parker); Marlin Beasley 192 (in memory of Elsie Beasley), 277 (in memory of W.A. Parker); Richard Mauldin 416 (in memory of Joe Myers); John Beasley 354b, 129; Anne Chalker 146, 45t; Larry Ballinger 439; Sarah Smith 143, 340.

Marlin Beasley and Richard Mauldin led 323t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Ken Tate.

Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nora Parker