Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, near Ephesus, Georgia

Sunday, June 15, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Karen Rollins leading 75. The opening prayer was offered by Hugh McGraw. Denney Rogers led 318 and Karleen Williams led 100.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairlady—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Bentley McGuire; Secretary—Karleen Williams; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace and Lela Crowder; Memorial Committee—Paige Harrod and Kathy Williams.

Leaders: Bentley McGuire 481, 470; Stanley Edwards 335, 340; Paige Harrod 405, 112; Lela Crowder 121, 171; Matt Hinton 99, 105; Floy Wilder 382, 389; B.M. Smith 441, 222; Judy Chambless 480, 565; Oscar McGuire 229, 515; Erica Hinton 108 (t? b?), 209; Philip Langley 440, 30t.


The class resumed singing with Bentley McGuire leading 56t. Leaders: Robert Chambless 303, 84; Malinda Snow 38b, 472; Jimmie Denney 40, 313t; Eris Muse 159, 61; Sheri Taylor 155, 349; Jonathan Smith 77t, 203; JoDell Albi 35, 101b; Ian West 479, 501; Sharona Nelson 37b, 282; Nathan Rees 390, 426t; Helen Brown 220, 392; Kathy Williams 186, 208; Margaret Gillanders 503, 373; Ted Brown 569b, 496. Chuck White, the church treasurer, gave a financial report.


The afternoon session began with Nathan Rees leading 72b. Leaders: Rosalind Oldham 473, 147t; Lonnie Rogers 225t, 45t; Randa Harris, Laura Robinson, Kayla McWhorter, and Barry Rollins (Lonnie Rogers’s grandchildren) 143, 153; John Plunkett 41.

Paige Harrod conducted the memorial lesson. Kathy Williams led 385t for the sick and shut-ins. John Plunkett led 420 for the following deceased: Gaylon Lumsford, Loy Garrison, Myrtle Smith, Gladys McGraw, Reby Stanford, Amanda Denson Brady, Felton Smith, Betty Sue Mann, Ed Nelson, Billy Joe Harris, LaRue Allen, Jeanette Lowry, Alice Caldwell, Elder Homer Benefield, Felton Denney, Tommie Denney, Roger Kelley, Durwin Kelley, Craig Rogers, and Pauline Langley. He also led 358 for the Roger Kelley family. Cecil Roberts offered prayer to close the memorial session.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 195, 213b; Nell Estes 560, 192; Richard DeLong 109; Jean Paine 272, 513; Philip Denney 28t, 120; Mary Jo Shafer 82t, 163b; Ann Simpson 452, 445; Louise Holland 103; Charlene Wallace and Cecil Roberts 46.

Announcements were made. Karen Rollins and Bentley McGuire led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Philip Denney.

Chairlady—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Bentley McGuire; Secretary—Karleen Williams