Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Aldridge Memorial

Pleasant Hill (Johnson Schoolhouse), Fayette County, Alabama

Sunday, June 8, 2008

The annual Aldridge Memorial Sacred Harp singing was brought to order by Joan Aldridge leading 36b. The morning prayer was offered by Danny Creel.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Joan Aldridge; Vice Chairperson—Elene Stovall; Arranging Committee—Amber Davis; and Secretary—Carolyn Thompson

Leaders: Elene Stovall 436 (in memory of Marie Aldridge, D.M. Aldridge, and Fred Killingsworth, Jr.); Carolyn Thompson 444; Amber Davis 440; Chris Cotter 183; Marie Brandis 448t; Glenn Keeton, Elizabeth Keeton, and Ashley Keeton 504, 86; Sarah Smith 146; William Shetter 82t; Jessica Beer 434; Clarence McCool 439; Bridgett Hill 302; James Eldridge 186; Kristie Harju 56b; Leon Ballinger 327; Lena Keeton 480; Bob Meek 314 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Connie Stanton 171; Lisa Geist 344; Ken Tate 166; Katherine Eldridge 85; Darrell Swarens 198 (in memory of Robert Aldridge and D.M. Aldridge); Josie Hyde 442, 507; Gary Smith 66 (in memory of Delores Beasley); Rebecca Eldridge 203.


The class was called back to order by Elene Stovall leading 192. Leaders: Wayne Dell 277; Virginia Eldridge 180; Chris Ballinger 350; Lucy Heidorn 155; Andrew Farris 503; Stephanie Fida 288; Henry Guthery 431; Ashley Keeton 475; Adrian Eldridge 319; Marlin Beasley 348b (in memory of Lenora Beasley); Steve Helwig 157; Harrison Creel 512; Larry Ballinger 224; Steve Adams 309; Travis Keeton 400; Gravis Ballinger 112; Danny Creel 269 (in memory of Teddy Creel, Edith Tate, and Flarce Creel). The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Randall Nichols.


The afternoon session began with Carolyn Thompson leading 485. Leaders: Eddie Mash 556; Kermit Adams 39b; Earl Ballinger 162; Don Keeton 454; Chuck Howell 182; Stevie Rutledge 294; Allison Davis 542; Shirley McCoy 217; Elene Stovall, Fred Killingsworth, and Kenny Burkett 457, 146 (in memory of Fred Killingsworth, Jr.); Connie Stanton 496; Marie Brandis and Jessica Beer 456; Chris Cotter 472; Rebecca Eldridge 110; William Shetter 178; Kristie Harju 106; Katherine Eldridge 117; Darrell Swarens 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson); Stephanie Fida 196; Wayne Dell 47b; James Eldridge 383; Bob Meek 270; Virginia Eldridge 569b; Steve Helwig and Kristie Harju 156; Adrian Eldridge 124; Leon Ballinger 280; Eddie Mash 168; Don Keeton 384.

Joan Aldridge expressed thanks and appreciation to everyone who had helped to make the singing a success and recognized singers from the following states: Texas, Tennessee, Kentucky, Indiana, Minnesota, Oregon, Illinois, and Mississippi. She then led 358 (by request).

Following announcements, Joan Aldridge and Elene Stovall led 46 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed in prayer offered by Adrian Eldridge.

Chairperson—Joan Aldridge; Vice Chairperson—Elene Stovall; Secretary—Carolyn Thompson