Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church

Douglas, Alabama

Sunday, May 18, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Jackson Harcrow leading 32t and 39b. The opening prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow; Arranging Committee—Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Jackson Harcrow 332; Susan Harcrow 128, 142; Henry Johnson 102, 56b; S.T. Reed 103, 123b; Stuart Ivey 39t, 377; Chris Ballinger 270, 410t; Robert Walker 84, 145b; Butch White 326, 30b; Bridgett Hill 29b, 383 (for Eugene Forbes); Andrew Farris 503, 178.


Rodney Ivey brought the class together leading 166 and 283. Leaders: Philip Gilmore 31t, 68b (for the Brown family); Judy Caudle 286, 278b; Donna Wootten 88t, 335; Kyle Blakeley 123t (for Doug Conn), 87; Aaron Wootten 480, 101t; Karen Ivey 203, 373; Marty Wootten 312b; Linda Thomas and Jordan Ratliff 345b.


The class was brought to order by Jennifer Allred Lee leading 126. Leaders: Terry Wootten 224, 59; Dennis George 358, 556; Cindy Tanner 336, 318; Jared Wootten 276, 99; Sonya Sipe 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson), 192; Larry Ballinger 78, 273; Cheyenne Ivey 319, 155; Shane Wootten 405, 349. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Elder Philip Gilmore.


The afternoon session was called to order by Aaron Wootten leading 108t. Leaders: Jennifer Allred Lee 391, 216; Marty Wootten and Jamey Wootten 460; David Ivey 41, 57; Sheila Wootten 29t, 457; Henry Johnson 108b; Susan Harcrow 426 (t? b?), 49b (in memory of Spout Brown and Edna Jackson); Scott Ivey 186; Tony Ivey 313t, 324; Lorrie Wootten and Hayden Wootten 448b; Reves Brothers and Katrina Rosser 30b; Shane Wootten 542 (for Doug Conn); Rodney Ivey 439; Larry Ballinger 540; Karen Ivey and Stuart Ivey 411; Kyle Blakeley and Philip Gilmore 73t; Kyle Blakeley, Philip Gilmore, and Rebekah Gilmore 47b; David Ivey 288 (by request).

Announcements were made. Jackson Harcrow and Susan Harcrow led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Tony Ivey, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow