Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Providence Primitive Baptist Church

Vinemont, Alabama

Saturday, May 17, 2008

The 4th annual Sacred Harp singing held at Providence Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Kenneth Fannin leading 59. Richard Mauldin offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co—Chairmen-Kenneth Fannin and Delone Cobbs; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Sonya Sipe.

Leaders: Delone Cobbs 565, 31b; Judy Caudle 33b, 36t; Sonya Sipe 39t, 39b; Charles McCravy 145t, 129; Geraldine Sharpton 66, 229; Richard Mauldin 285t (in memory of Wilton Donaldson and Amanda Denson), 378t (in memory of Dick Mauldin); Anne Chalker 146, 235; Henry Guthery 311, 288; Carol Fannin 503, 225t; Garrett Sipe 274t, 354b; Rachel Allred 276, 37b; Seth Allred 106, 29b.


Velton Chafin brought the class to order leading 487 and 330b. Leaders: Butch White 326, 30t; Susan Allred 56t, 182; Laura Hale 111b, 270; Ryan Hale 36b, 192; Bridgett Hill 445, 204; Will Allred 282, 30b; Adam Hale 77t, 47t; Billy Williams 76b, 64; Jennifer Allred Lee 278t, 385t. Charles McCravy offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Delone Cobbs and Garrett Sipe leading 32t. Leaders: Caleb Allred 47b, 448t; Gordon Wilkinson 220, 112; Mary Holcombe 75, 84; Jennifer Clay and Sonya Sipe 82t, 63; Christie Holcombe 61.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Rachel Allred and Mary Holcombe. Mary Holcombe led 340 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Charlotte McCarn, Bud Oliver, and Eugene Forbes.

Rachel Allred spoke for the deceased and led 499 in memory of the following: Amanda Denson, Dick Mauldin, Wilton Donaldson, Marie Guthrie, B.J. Harris, Herby Bailey, Brenda Dean, Delores Beasley, LaRue Allen, and Elder W.G. McGough—Alabama; Felton Denney, Gladys McGraw, and Myrtle Smith—Georgia. The memorial was closed with prayer offered by Richard Mauldin.

Leaders: Kenneth Fannin and Carol Fannin, children and grandchildren 390; Delone Cobbs 147t (in memory of Maggie Williams); Bridgett Hill 385b; Judy Caudle 325; Richard Mauldin 178; Anne Chalker 388; Butch White 86; Geraldine Sharpton 421; Velton Chafin 437; Henry Guthery 547; Gordon Wilkinson 434; Jennifer Clay 335; Butch White and Judy Caudle 78; Gordon Wilkinson and Henry Guthery 45t (in memory of Carl Wilkinson).

Kenneth Fannin and Delone Cobbs led 480 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Marlin Wilkinson, and the class was dismissed.

Co—Chairmen-Kenneth Fannin and Delone Cobbs; Secretary—Judy Caudle