Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt Museum, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 3, 2008

The 24th annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held in the church building on the grounds of Burritt Museum overlooking Huntsville, Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Ron Harper leading 32t and 350. J.L. Hopper offered the morning prayer.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Ron Harper; Vice Chairman—Charles McCravy; Secretary—Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger; Finance Committee—Mark Carroll and David Ivey.

Leaders: Lomax Ballinger 144; Teresa Hope 477; Charles McCravy 58; David Ivey 419; Jimmy Ballinger 565; Judy Caudle 522; Mark Carroll 299; Tina Leopold 155; Ken Robinson 335; Emily Creel 546; Loyd Ivey 283; Gary Leopold 159; Heidi Noland 448t; Andy Anderson 28t; Sherry Stover 373; Jeff Adcock and Tim Scott 97; Sonya Sipe 208; Phillip Ballinger 340; Bobby Watkins and Mercy Watkins 215; Jackie Tanner 336; Ann Miczulski 569b; Danny Arms 200.


The class was called to order by Danny Creel leading 318. Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 203; Jeannette DePoy 492; Jonathon Smith 440; Pam Wilkerson 183; Ken Tate 343; Daphene Causey 436; Coy Ivey 222; Beth Ann Clay and Jennifer Clay 36b; Laurens Blankers 147t; Frances Jones and David Ivey 178; Andrew Farris 503; Lisa Geist 273; Bud Oliver 42; Charles Meidinger 352.


The class was called to order by Rodney Ivey and David Harper leading 111b. Leaders: Sandra Wilkinson 168; Bob Simmons 344; Sandie Scott 472; Buell Cobb 303.

Joyce Walton and Bob Simmons conducted the memorial lesson and led 452 in memory of the following deceased: Richard Mauldin, Sr., Betty Shaver, Sam Jones, Edith Tate, Amanda Denson Brady, Kenneth Walton, Asbury Walton, Milton Oliver, Loy Garrison, Alice Watkin, Marie Guthrie, Chester Lacy, LaRue Allen, Herby Bailey, Felton Denney, and Christine Chrisman.

Joyce Walton and Bob Simmons led 317 for the following sick and shut-ins: Violet Thomason, Frank Block, Pauline Childers, Lonnie Rogers, and Sam Sommers.

Leaders: Joyce Walton 192; Phil Summerlin 64; Sharon DuPriest 327.


The afternoon session was called together by Larry Ballinger leading 133. Leaders: Dennis George 396; Cindy Tanner 498; Mike Thompson 424; Reba Windom 216; Tim Reynolds 569t; Cassie Allen 500; Richard DeLong 298; Bridgett Hill 498; Bob Meeks 314 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Nathan Rees 422; Elene Stovall and Allison Davis 182, 142; John Plunkett 459; Hannah Grace Sipe and Beth Ann Clay 274t; J.L. Hopper 534; David Carlton 179; Vella Dailey 99; Max Berueffy and Karen Covy 276, 220; Mike Braumwell and John Plunkett 268; Karen Isbell 270 (in memory of Jeanette Lowry); Bobby Watkins 512; David Harper and Ron Harper 63; Steven Shearon 213t; Delone Cobbs 49b; Roy Tarrentine 148; Karen Ivey 101t; Stephanie Tingler 128; Elbert Peters 162; Linton Ballinger 224; Charles McCravy 358 (by request).

Following announcements, Ron Harper and Charles McCravy led 323t, and the class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Ron Harper; Vice Chairman—Charles McCravy; Secretary—Teresa Hope