Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dallas County Sacred Harp Convention

First Primitive Baptist Church, Dallas, Texas

Saturday, November 10, 2007

The Dallas County Sacred Harp Convention was opened by Stephanie Turney leading 49t. The opening prayer was offered by Elder Clifford Gowens.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairwoman—Stephanie Turney; Vice-Chairman—Owen Ross; Co-Secretaries and Arranging Committee—Sonny Erwin and Lee Waters.

Leaders: Owen Ross 228; Sonny Erwin 441; Gary Rogan 384; Diane Ross 543; Catherine Rogan 383; Tom Owen 492; Tammy Powell 454; Mike Hinton 340; Amanda Owen 86; Brennen Leigh 36b; Donald Ross 499; Beverly Coates 475; Ryan Ross 460; Donn Howard 163b; Bruce Coates 341; Ainsley Ross 145t; Sarah Huckaby 318; Trevor Howard 30b; Reed Coates 472; Riley Owen 401; Bill Bailey 42; Alexa Gilmore 300; Gaylon Powell 107; Grant Howard 503; Larry Hall 78.


Owen Ross brought the group back together leading 565. Leaders: Lindsey Wiggins 481; Jerry Ryan 111t; Leon Ballinger and Casie Cockrill 490; Liz Owen 546; H.P. O’Mary 75; Jeb Owen 273; Vivian Rogan 178; Joshua McClain 329; Evelyn Lamb 504; Scott Curran 198; Crystal Meadows 183.

Diane Ross conducted the memorial lesson and read the names of the following deceased: Charlie Vaughn, Mary Ballinger, Floyd Screws—Texas; Minja Lausevic—Minnesota; LaRue Allen, Richard K. Mauldin, Sr., Wilton Donaldson—Alabama; Gladys McGraw, Elder Homer Benefield—Georgia.

Diane Ross also read the names of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Leland Owen, Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Amanda Denson, Vaudie O’Mary, Jerry Hale, Lynn Bruce, Curtis Owen, and Edith Owen.

Crystal Meadows led 285t in remembrance of those listed. The memorial lesson closed with prayer by Gary Rogan.

Leaders: Tim McClain 535; Kelsey May 146; Clifford Gowens 67; Michele Rogan 196; Ronnie Mallow 332; Ben Brown 84; Diane Ross 133; Donald Ross 542; Zach Rogan 299; Ryan Ross 276; Bruce Coates 150; Reed Coates 76b. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Bruce Coates.


Stephanie Turney called the singers together leading 159. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 480; Beverly Coates 532; Bill Bailey 61; Kris Wiggins 522; Tammy Powell 222; Avon Miller 262 (?); Sarah Huckaby 56b; Tom Owen 448t; Alexa Gilmore 348b; Mike Hinton 456; Amanda Owen 354t; Gaylon Powell 442; Crystal Meadows 362; Leon Ballinger and Casie Cockrill 313b; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Jeb Owen 328; Liz Owen 377; Scott Curran 192; Evelyn Lamb 497; Joshua McClain 31t; Kelsey May 171; Tim McClain 40; H.P. O’Mary 35; Vivian Rogan 282; Jerry Ryan 343; Trevor Howard 47b; Michele Rogan 215; Larry Hall 29t; Catherine Rogan 200; Donn Howard 147t; Gary Rogan 319; Zach Rogan 280; Chris Nicholson 223; Avon Miller 482; Kris Wiggins and Priscilla Wiggins 365; Jeb Owen 294; Alexa Gilmore 37b; Gaylon Powell 225b.

Stephanie Turney, Sonny Erwin and Lee Waters led 62 as the closing song. Donn Howard closed the convention with prayer.

Chairwoman—Stephanie Turney; Vice-Chairman—Owen Ross; Co-Secretaries—Sonny Erwin and Lee Waters