Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church

Douglas, Alabama

Sunday, May 20, 2007

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Drew Smith leading 48t and 68b. The opening prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Drew Smith; Vice Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Arranging Committee—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Susan Harcrow.

Leaders: Jackson Harcrow 32t, 39b; Susan Harcrow 63, 61; Blake Sisemore 101t, 186; Aaron Wootten 480, 39t; Butch White 280, 77t; S.T. Reed 134, 289; Marlin Beasley 144, 349; Karen Ivey 475; Ken Tate 389, 73b; Harrison Creel 498, 512; Stuart Ivey 36b, 492; Rodney Ivey 224, 131b; Michael Thompson 111b, 436; Kyle Blakeley 196, 317; Chris Green 179, 438; Robert Walker 477, 452.


The class was called back together by Blake Sisemore and Drew Smith leading 75. Leaders: Richard Ivey 67; Danny Creel 182; Joyce Walton 197; Pam Green 274t; Linda Thomas 47t; Nate Green and Norma Green 145b, 105; Larry Lambert and Helen Lambert 410b, 348b; Brittany Lea 87; Bud Oliver 421; Douglas Conn 126; Dennis George 500; Donna Wootten 76b; Henry Johnson 108t (in memory of Brandon Allsup); Terry Wootten 316; Larry Ballinger 300; Marty Wootten and Jared Wootten 276; Benny Green 84; Eloise Wootten 456; Britt Mann 99; Jenny Mann 198; Bridgett Hill 396; Judy Caudle 472; Beecher Yancy 565; Drew Smith 328.


The afternoon session was called to order by Jackson Harcrow leading 275b. Leaders: Marlon Wootten 147t; Shane Wootten 432; Lisa Geist 377; Geraldine Sharpton 299; David Ivey 330b; Tony Ivey 410t; Sandy Ivey 30t; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten and Jamey Wootten 511t (CB); Richard Ivey 187; Britt Mann, Jenny Mann, Karalina Mann, and Kaylee Mann 354b; Sheila Wootten, Susan Harcrow, and Elizabeth Rosser 358 (by request).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Susan Harcrow. Jenny Mann led “Beulah Land” in memory of the following deceased: Edna Jackson, Clayton Spears, Bill Green, Nannie Jackson, Eldora Moody, and Mary Ballinger. Roger Spears led 100 in memory of his father, Clayton Spears.

Susan Harcrow led 122 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Herby Bailey, Mattie Townsel, Norma Sears, and Betty Ann Wootten. Chris Green closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey and Chris Green 129; Henry Johnson 141; Butch White 159; Karen Ivey 440; Bridgett Hill and Judy Caudle 142; Shane Wootten 176b; Brittany Lea 313t; Lisa Geist 270.

Following announcements, Jackson Harcrow and Susan Harcrow led 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Drew Smith; Vice Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow