Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, DeKalb County, Alabama

Sunday, April 8, 2007

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, on the second Sunday in April was called to order by Dewayne Wootten and David Townson leading 82t and 75. The morning prayer was offered by Jeffrey Wootten.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairmen—Dewayne Wootten and David Townson; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Dewayne Wootten and David Townson 31t, 48t; Marlon Wootten 99; John Plunkett 156; Michael Thompson 129; Jerry Creason and Ann Sibole 56b; S.T. Reed 123b; Linda Sides 277; Ed Thacker 460; Henry Johnson 138t; Jeb Owen 176b; Joyce Walton 428; Rodney Ivey and Don Bowen 283; Terry Hullett and Jewel Wootten 145b; Pam Nunn 220; Debra Kane and Kristie Wootten 171; Jackson Harcrow 101t; Reba Windom 542; Bruce Coates 535; David Ivey and Linton Ballinger 349; Judy Caudle 193; Meg Parsons 203; Linda Thomas 32t.


The class was brought together by Dewayne Wootten and David Townson leading 201 and 34t. Leaders: Sarah Huckaby 454; Phillip Wootten, Venita Wootten, Jennifer Cook, Susan Pilcher, and Stacy Pilcher 400, 196; Hugh McGraw 448b; Chris Holly and Kathe Pilibosian 503; Beverly Coates 448t; Jim Parsons 385b; Drew Smith 376; Pleasance Crawford 91; Louis Hughes 378b; Roberta Strauss 496; Mel Kersey 47b; Syble Adams and Pam Wilkerson 49b, 163t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Shane Wootten and Jeffery Wootten leading 147t. Those deceased remembered were Eldora Moody, Arvil Bailey, Henry Allen, Allie Brown, Edgar Brown, Bill Thomas, Mary Ballinger, Flarce Creel, Moeina Brown, Imogene Bradshaw, and Bobby Jackson.

The sick and shut-ins honored were Milton Oliver, Pauline Oliver, Herby Bailey, Carolyn Puckett, Reby Juel Blevins, Amanda Denson, and Lorell Lee.

Shane Wootten and Jeffery Wootten led 176t in memory of family and friends buried in the Antioch Baptist Church cemetery. The memorial was closed with prayer offered by Phillip Wootten.

Leaders: Jerry Wootten, Betty Wootten, Christina Wootten, Jeremy Wootten, and Zachary Wootten 341; Johnny Lee and Delorese Lee 566; Tony Schrader and Virginia Schrader 68b; Jeff Sheppard 467. Pastor Ron Patterson offered the prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Dewayne Wootten and David Townson leading 155. Leaders: Levon Wootten 452; Phil Summerlin 415; Tom Owen 312b; Donna Wootten and Kennedy Wootten 314 (for Milton Oliver); Marty Wootten 546; Hayden Wootten, Jamey Wootten, Cole Wootten, Lorrie Wootten, Damien Wootten, and Jared Wootten 511t (CB), 480; Aaron Wootten 39t; Hunter Townson, Chase Townson, and Logan Townson “Holy Manna”; Brenda Carroll, Shawn Carroll, and Chris Carroll 442, 28b; Britt Mann, Jenny Mann, Karolina Mann, and Kaylee Mann 354b; Anna Mays 29t; Shelbie Sheppard 29b; Rebecca Mays and Laura Densmore 383; Susan Harcrow 426b (for Allen); Karen Swenson 298; David Killingsworth 445; Olivia Allen, Jeanette Mosteller, Daniel Mosteller, and Tyler Mosteller 36b; Bailey Sailors, Teresa Sailors, and Sierra Sailors 106; Myra Dalton 332; Erin Mills 270; Daryl Chesney 492; Will Kerby and Katie Kerby 30b; Karen Keller 178; Eloise Wootten and Coy Ivey 384; Betty Wright 569b; Aaron Little 83t; Terry Wootten 348b; Jeffery Wootten, Shane Wootten, and Sonny Huckaby 274t.

Announcements were made. Dewayne Wootten and David Townson led 410 (CB) and 359 (OSH) while the class took the parting hand. Johnny Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Dewayne Wootten and David Townson; Secretary—Judy Caudle