Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Morgan County, Alabama

May 26, 1996

The May Decoration Day Sacred Harp Singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday was called to order by Milford Cobbs leading song on page 323b. Prayer was offered by Milford Cobbs. Milford Cobbs led song on page 339. Leaders: Steve Cobbs 285t, 460, 280; Arvid Holmes 155, 171; 343; Rhoda Norris 137, 187; Eron White 186, 168; Wilda Holmes 384, 441.


Leaders and selections: Lessie Grant 61, 111t; Marie Guthrie 298, 192, 225 (t? b?); Christine Leeth 496, 490; Judy Caudle 234, 84, 448t, 78; Linton Ballinger 82t, 76b, 64; Richard Ivey 270, 567; Stuart Ivey 63, 385b, 551; Unie B. Howard 37b, 48t; Mildord Cobbs 381, 147t. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Hershell King.


Milford Cobbs called the class back to order by leading song on page 36b, and 89 by request in memory of Annie Mae Holmes; Nancy Thompson, Jonathan Thompson, and Brandon Thompson 274 (t? b?) for J. L. Oden and Mary Oden who are shut-ins, 40 and 45t; Judy Caudle 358 in memory of Bera Bradford and Mary Holmes, 499, and 285t requested by Perry Williams in memory of all Sacred Harp singers; Marshall Avery 35, 81 (t? b?), 159; Eloise Avery 123t, 73t; Corene White 216, 314; Allison Ivey 99, 47t; Karen Ivey 47b, 388, 34t; Eunice Kimbrell 535, 69t; Hershell King 80b, and 389 for Mary Oden; Susan Holmes 313t, 49b, 222 in memory of T. C. Cobbs and Pauline Cobbs; J. L. Hopper 288, 383 in memory of Una Mae Holmes Ford, 306; Herbert Cobbs 295, 283; Dan Hopper 449, 301, 376; Dan Hopper and Alta Self 282; David Ivey 340 in memory of Preston Crider, Aver Crider, and Agnes Hocutt, 56b for Mr. Herbert Cobbs; Gerald Holmes 203, 68b, 268. Milford Cobbs led song on page 62 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Elder J. L. Hopper.

We are very thankful for the visitors who came to help us sing, and invite everyone to come next year.

Chairman—Milford Cobbs; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Arranging Committee—Willard Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle.