Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Stapleford Sacred Harp Singing

Stapleford, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Saturday, November 11, 2006

The annual Stapleford Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Helen Brown leading 171. Ruth Steggles offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Helen Brown; Arranging Committee—Dave Richardson; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders.

Leaders: Dave Richardson 48t; Ruth Steggles 49b; Ian West 500 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 150; Ted Brown 569b; Sheila Girling Macadam 365; Phil Tyler 98.

At 11:00 a.m. (the 11th hour of the 11th month) a two-minute silence was observed in remembrance of all those killed in the conflict of war. Helen Brown recited the following: “They shall grow not old, as we are that are left grow old; age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn; at the going down of the sun, and in the morning, we will remember them”. Song on page 36b was sung in their honor.

Leaders: Carmel Wood 282; Judy Whiting 507b (CB); Edwin Macadam 564; Hannah Land 148; Cath Tyler 460; Chris Brown 72t; Rosalind Oldham 127; Sarah Pinney 324; Steve Fletcher 183.


Dave Richardson called the class back to order leading 54t (CB). Leaders: Helen Brown 559 (CB); Ian West 411 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 55 (CB); Sheila Girling Macadam 191; Phil Tyler 399b; Ruth Steggles 573 (CB); Carmel Wood 449 (CB); Judy Whiting 268t (CB); Edwin Macadam 528; Hannah Land 147t; Cath Tyler 218; Chris Brown 501; Rosalind Oldham 488t (CB); Sarah Pinney 155; Ted Brown 441. Rob Mahoney gave thanks for the meal.


The class resumed with Cath Tyler leading 63. Leaders: Ian West 68b; Margaret Gillanders 475; Ruth Steggles 159; Phil Tyler 436; Steve Fletcher (for Ken Baddley) 481; Sheila Girling Macadam (for Bernard Collard) 480; Carmel Wood 547; Judy Whiting 516 (CB); Edwin Macadam 504; Hannah Land 228; Chris Brown 128; Sarah Pinney 29t; Helen Brown 225t.

Ted Brown conducted the memorial lesson in honor of the following deceased: Sgt. Philip Dodson, Evelyn Ward, Helen Ward, Mike Walker, Sally Lee, and Marcia Tucker—USA; Jonathon Hayward, Alice Rose Cole, and Howard Evans.

The sick and housebound: Ivy Moore, Amanda Denson (USA), Lilian Shufflebotham, Vera Foster, Diane Davis, Bill Poyzer, Penny Gallon, Gae Kyffin, Deirdre Powell, James Oss, Audrey Nathan, Sue Briggs, June Powell, and Brenda Phillips.

Phil Tyler led 340 for all those named and Helen Brown closed the Memorial by leading the class in prayer.


Dave Richardson reconvened the class with 77t (for Amanda Denson). Leaders: Cath Tyler 524 (CB); Ian West 511t (CB); Steve Fletcher 108b; Margaret Gillanders 318; Ruth Steggles 269; Sheila Girling Macadam 142; Carmel Wood 457; Judy Whiting 575 (CB); Edwin Macadam 236; Hannah Land 186; Chris Brown 38b; Sarah Pinney 74b; Steve Fletcher 452; Ted Brown 278t; Helen Brown 572 (CB); Phil Tyler 105.

Announcements were made and thanks given to all who had made this such a wonderful singing.

Helen Brown, Dave Richardson and Margaret Gillanders led 347; David Stow gave the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Helen Brown; Arranging Committee—Dave Richardson; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders.