Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 15, 2006

The ninety-second session of the Walker County Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. Velton Chafin called the class to order by leading 31b. Danny Creel offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 30t, 42; Wilton Donaldson 480, 145b; John Hyde 104, 297; Elizabeth Keeton 145t, 212; Cecil Sanders and Winell Sanders 569b, 380; Charlotte McCarn 313t, 274t; Brenda Merritt 426b, 436 (for Elsie Moon); Sonya Sipe and Garrett Sipe 354b, 77t, 39t; Jimmie Gilmore 36b, 378t; Velton Chafin 437; John Merritt and Garrett Sipe 426t, 358; Richard Mauldin 43; Arthur Gilmore 47t, 491b (WB); Willodean Barton 63; Clarence McCool 349, 428; Margaret Keeton 154; Tommy Spurlock 442, 496; Stanley Smith 404; Karen Clark 499, 421.


Velton Chafin brought the class together leading 57. Leaders: Don Clark 540, 542; Rachel Allred 111b, 440.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Richard Mauldin and Willodean Barton who led 68b for the following sick and shut-ins: Elsie Moon, Dick Mauldin, Richard DeLong, Herby Bailey, L.H. Gilmore, Estelle Gilmore, Elder W.G. McGough, Mercy Watkins, and Chuck Beasley.

Richard Mauldin and Willodean Barton led 146 for the following deceased: Teddy Creel, Donnie McGraw, Elsie Beasley, Bobby Jackson, Lee Weiss, L.E. Hannah, Adeline Hunt, F.P. Cargo, Phillip Dodson, Herbert Cobbs, Hazel Wakefield, Aubrey Tyree, Ruth Aaron, and Ora Lee Fannin. The memorial was closed.


Glenn Keeton called the afternoon session to order leading 46 and 86. Leaders: Amber Davis 391; Lisa Geist 273; Frank Hataway 58; Sandie Scott 340; Seth Allred 411; Will Allred 87; Susan Allred and Zack Allred 337; Bridgett Hill 500; Marlin Beasley 460 (in memory of Elsie Beasley); Jennifer Allred 214; Danny Creel 456; Ernestine Pipkin 171; Travis Keeton 161; Delone Cobbs 47b; Caleb Allred and Brenda Merritt 196; Gary Smith 565; Carolyn Burgess 108b; Juanita Beasley 61; Sarah Smith 73t; Mary Gardner 189; John Etheridge 336; Amanda Denson Brady, McKinsey Smith and Rachel Allred 294; Billy Williams 448b; Glenn Keeton 212 (for Monroe Tidwell). A closing prayer was offered, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.