Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dallas County Singing

First Primitive Baptist Church, Dallas, Texas

Saturday, November 12, 2005

The Dallas County annual Sacred Harp singing was held at the First Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Bruce Coates leading 49t and 34t. Gary Rogan offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bruce Coates; Vice Chairman—Ben Brown; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Lee Waters and Sonny Erwin.

Leaders: Ben Brown 84; Sonny Erwin 569b; Owen Ross 528; Lynette Howard 31t; Robert Vaughan 504; Tim McClain 192; Catherine Rogan 344; Liz Owen 273; Billy Huckaby 198; Lindsey Wiggins 99; Donn Howard 178; Reed Coates 39t; Vivian Rogan 282; John Beard 171; Diane Ross 455; Sarah Huckaby 454.


Ben Brown called the class back by leading 148. Leaders: Joshua McClain 127; Gaylon Powell 272; Albano Tayengo 88t; Jeb Owen 475; Kevin Lee 112; Tom Owen 532; Nancy Powell 85; Kris Wiggins 522; Beverly Coates 499; Donald Ross 338; Gary Rogan 318; Chris Adams 179; Seth Howard 163b; Avon Miller 260; Scott Curran 328; Ryan Ross 172.

Sarah Huckaby read the names of the sick and shut-in and led 86 in their honor. Owen Ross conducted the memorial lesson, read text from John 14, and led 69t. The memorial was concluded.

Leaders: Leon Ballinger 313b; Trevor Howard 168; Zach Rogan 319; H.P. O’Mary 35; Cheryl Foreman 556; Drew Crocker 47t. Clifford Gowen offered prayer for the noon meal.


Bruce Coates called the class to order by leading 56t. Leaders: Jerry Ryan 145t; Josh Rogan 270; Terre Schill 434; Michelle Rogan 110; Caitlin Bruce 480; Doris Hanks 448b; Owen Ross 503; Lynette Howard 32t; Tim McClain 143; Leon Ballinger 142; Chris Adams 288; Nancy Powell 397; Jeb Owen 208; Kevin Lee 448t; Lindsey Wiggins 383; Joshua McClain 45t; Diane Ross 34b; H.P. O’Mary 323b; Sarah Huckaby 183; Scott Curran 460; Donald Ross 481; Terre Schill 212; Donn Howard 147t; Drew Crocker 75; Billy Huckaby 47b; Doris Hanks 34t; Ben Brown 40; Reed Coates 65; Cheryl Foreman 546; Jerry Ryan 111t; Beverly Coates 548; Kris Wiggins 235; Caitlin Bruce 385t; Gary Rogan 384; Liz Owen 430; Josh Rogan 436; Vivian Rogan 535; Sarah Huckaby 76b; Avon Miller 518; Tom Owen 294; Sonny Erwin 59; Beverly Coates 358.

Bruce Coates and Ben Brown led 549 as the closing song. Tom Owen dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Bruce Coates; Vice Chairman—Ben Brown; Secretaries—Lee Waters and Sonny Erwin.