Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

April 13, 1996

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church in Cleburne County, Alabama (just off highway 78 at Georgia/Alabama state line) was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. The day of singing began with B. M. Smith leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was given by John Bayer. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 35; Mary Florence Smith 327; B. M. Smith 448b; Shelbie Sheppard 269 in memory of her mother, Lessie Cates. The class was organized with the same officers being elected: Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Helen Bryson. The class voted to pay B. M. Smith $180.00 for windows that were replaced in the church. Leaders: Carla Smith 319; Roy Nelson 434; Kathy Lee 63; Terry Wootten 542; Karen Willard 53; Ted Johnson 68t; Riley Lee 354b; Judy Hauff 172; Mel Kersey 47t; Lou Cotney 189; Jerry Schreiber 184; Katherine Manning 212; Al Grindon 567; John Bayer 331; Judy Mincey 475; S. T. Reed 34b; Ernestine Pipkin 276.


The class was called to order by B. M. Smith leading song on page 123 (t? b?). Leaders: David Lee 201b; Charles Whitmer 556b; Carol Grindon 497; Loraine Bayer 225t; Bud Oliver 73t; Clark Lee 30b; Kelly Beard 170; Marcia Johnson 547; Charlene Wallace 481; Mary Lee 64.


Jeff Sheppard called the class together leading song on page 87. Leaders: Shane Wootten 300; Pam Nunn 236; Louis Hughes 388; Connie Karduck 222; Jerry Enright 29t; Julie Lee 72b; Peter Pate 396; Jimmie Denney 313t; Kacy Pate 442; Lonnie Rogers 137; Lisa Grayson 192; Pearl Guier 303b; Mary Ann Haagan 191; Ted Mercer 166.


The afternoon session began with B. M. Smith leading song on page 335. Leaders: Kat Kincade 411; Milton Oliver 384; Cathy White 178; Don Bowen 282. A memorial lesson was given by Helen Bryson. She gave us some thoughts to reflect on: At this time we pause to remember our friends and loved ones who have passed away in the last year. There’s a statement that says....The more material things we have, the more we have to worry about. This building we are singing in today is going back to the basics of life, and those who we are singing for today did the basic things in their lives by visiting the sick, sending cards, bringing food to singings, and inviting people to singings. Let us remember not only the deceased, but all of the sick and shut-ins. As we sing the song on page 348b, we must remember that our days are fleeting, and make the most of each day that we are here. The memorial was closed with prayer by David Lee. Leaders: Keith Willard 385 (t? b?); Rene Greene 200; Melanie Hauff 347; Everette Denney 152; Jeanette DePoy 290; Cassie Franklin 436; Lewis Norton 39b; Jenny Willard 274t; Cindy Franklin 146; B. J. Harris 452b; Peggy Moody 383; Richard DeLong 530; I. V. McWhorter 91; Phillip Langley 299; Eloise Avery 426b; Linda Thomas 39t; Mildred Patterson 119; Marlon Wootten 448t; Katherine Benefield 108t; Arlene Strickland 82t; Marshall Avery 74b; John Plunkett 71; Jerry Sheppard 365; Jan House 143; Myron House 562; Alice Edwards 73b; Liz Bryant 122; Katie Grindon 107; Evelyn Harris 155; Margie Smith 503; Jeff Sheppard 196. B. M. Smith and Jeff Sheppard led song on page 46 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lonnie Rogers.

Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.